Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Temp sensor dramatic changes  (Read 743 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi

My background is in software but I'm really beginning to love the world of electronics, always a great feeling to put your knowledge to create something physical rather than abstract smiley-grin

Now the question. After going through some beginner tutorials on Massimo's youtube channel I acquired a temperature sensor in order to test it out. It seems to work (I think) though the value stay around 20-25 on their own accord, not changing when I hold it or anything which is very strange. However when I hold it up next to my laptop's fan that's spewing out hot air it then changes - so I guess it is working.

I then tried to plug in some LEDs in order to have a sort of a visual explanation for the temperature where more and more LEDs flash the higher the temperature goes above a base level. The problem I have however is it often goes from 20ish to near 30 in less than a second, and these leaps seem to be fueled by the weirdest thing - opening/closing the Terminal on my computer.

Is this something to do with Arduino's electronic output limit or something of that type, or is it more likely to be a setup issue by me.

Edison Member
View Profile

Could you read this, http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,148850.0.html

You see, we need to know almost everything. Which Arduino board, which sensor, how is it connected, what is your sketch, what do you use as power supply, do you use a breadboard ?
You can copy/paste your sketch in your post between the [code] ... [/code] tags.

If you mention something, like Massimo's youtube channel, please provide a link to it.
Is it this one, http://www.youtube.com/user/rswwwchannel ?
« Last Edit: April 01, 2013, 03:04:19 am by Erdin » Logged

View Profile

Fair point.

Here's some more info;

Code
Code:
const int sensorPin = A0;
int sensorVal;
float voltage;
float temperature;