Go Down

Topic: 3 Mbaud/Megabaud (Read 2804 times) previous topic - next topic

gabebear

This is a bit of an exhibition, hardware question, and software question. I have a working 3Mbaud connection.

First the questions:
   Is anyone running the Arduino at megabaud speeds? How many serial-frames do other people lose? I seem to lose about 0.05% of my frames even at low normal speeds...

Exhibition:

I get about 296kbytes/sec through this 3megabaud connection.

To get the 3Mbaud connection:

• modify the EEPROM on the FTDI chip to put out a 12Mhz signal on pin 14
  • divide that frequency to get a 3Mhz signal
  • connect the 3Mhz signal to digital pin 4
  • set the arduino to slave synchronous mode
I made the frequency divider with a 74HC595 and a 74HC14 I had laying around. I reprogrammed the FTDI chip using my Mac and the examples in the D2XX Driver Package http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/D2XX.htm . To get the Arduino into slave synchronous mode I used:
Code: [Select]
       Serial.begin(1000000);
       UCSR0C = (1<<UCSZ00) | (1<<UCSZ01) | (1<<UMSEL00) | (1<<UCPOL0);

gabebear

I figured out why my error rate was extremely high(stupid programming problem), but I'm still losing about 0.0001% of the frames/bytes.

E.U.A.

Hi!
Thanks for the information.
Can I have your actual baud?
Can you transfer 300KB/s with your synchronized setup?
How much is your "actual" transfer rate?
Thanks.

gabebear

Yep, I get almost 300k/sec with this setup, but since the error rate is somewhat high, you have to have some kind of error checking / resend (I get a corrupt byte about every 10000 bytes). If a small error is OK, then you can just use it as a 300k/s connection.

I picked up an Arduino UNO at the Maker Faire last Saturday, but haven't had much free time to push it yet. The UNO should be able to do a LOT more than this without any hardware modification.

Senso

Do you really need all that speed?