Steering a combine via GPS

I'm an arduino noob, and this is my first project using an arduino. I'm using it to read inertial data and control a hydraulic valve, which is used to steer a combine. The machine is a Case IH 2588, which is 285 HP, and weighs about 30,000 lbs. I have a Windows 7 computer in the cab to process the GPS data and calculate steering angles, and the arduino is my IO card. I eventually plan to offload all of the steering calculations to the arduino.

The system uses GPS data, an inclinometer (measures tilt), and a yaw sensor. We want the machine to travel back and fourth across a field in parallel passes. The computer will keep the machine driving straight, within about 3 inches of the desired path. The distance from the path is called cross track error, and I'm seeing an average cross track error of under 1.5 inches.

We are harvesting soybeans in Iowa, traveling 4 to 5 MPH.

More Pictures:
http://lefebure.com/farming/2009/september/

Video:

-Lance

Thats and awesome project! Lots of great shots too - good job man!

I love it, anybody who can see past LEDs and servos with an arduino deserves encouragement. Bravo. :slight_smile:

Impressive project!

I've done a marine autopilot based on Arduino (using GPS, Gyro and Compass for course keeping) and it would be interesting to know how you achieve an average cross track error of less than 2 inches?

I'm way impressed but I have to ask - what's the failsafe?

To get the cross track error down to this level took some time. Part of it has to do with having a proportional hydraulic valve to get smooth slow steering when needed, and fast response when needed. Part of it has to do with how to get accurate heading data - couple the yaw sensor to the GPS data with a Kalman filter. A steering angle sensor helps, and the steering algorithms were critical to being able to keep the machine smooth. While a 2 inch average cross track error is sweet, my goal is to get that down to the 1/2 inch range.