Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino Mega 1280 with ethernet shield (without sd-reader)  (Read 1663 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

I'm trying to get the ethernet shield working with the Arduino Mega (1280) and the software version 1.0.

Unfortunately i cannot get it to work. The software is uploading fine to the board, but i don't get a network connection. (ip within my local network range).

With the old software i know I had to bend 4 pins of the shield to the outside of the board and make some software adjustments in the spi.h library, see http://mcukits.com/2009/04/06/arduino-ethernet-shield-mega-hack

Do i have to modify the spi.h file also in this sofware version?
And where is the spi.h file located in this version?

or is there a better solution?

with kind regards,
Martin
Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 617
Posts: 49463
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I'm trying to get the ethernet shield
"the ethernet shield" is meaningless. There are quite a number of ethernet shields, not one as "the ethernet shield" implies.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok, fair enough.

But then i don't have any version number on the shield. I know there are other ethernet shields.
with SD-reader. But mine doesn't have an sd-reader (like i mentioned in the title of the subject).

so unfortunately i cannot say which version i have. The only text on the bottom of the card says:

Made in Italy designed by tinker.it

on top of the board there is the following text:

Arduino TM
Ethernet Shield.


so if anybody knows how to help then please.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 145
Posts: 9637
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
so if anybody knows how to help then please.

You can go to the hardware section of the main arduino site and see if you can find your ethernet shield there. You can also look on the shield and see if there is a chip with Wiznet W5100 on it. If the shield has this chip, setup should be fairly easy.
Logged

Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.   smiley-cool

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The Ethernet Shield has a whiznet w5100 chip.


so that should be easy to setup, i don't know, because in the past I had to adjust spi.h before i could get it to work (see link in my first post).



Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Update:

I just installed the "old" arduino.app (ide version 1.17) and changed the library spi.h like the instructions on the website: http://mcukits.com/2009/04/06/arduino-ethernet-shield-mega-hack

And this works like a charm.

the strange thing is, that it doesn't work within the new release version 1.0 of the IDE. Properly because of the changing of the libraryfile spi.h.

How can I change the library in the 1.0 version of the IDE so that the arduino mega  and the ethernet shield work as a expected?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 145
Posts: 9637
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
How can I change the library in the 1.0 version of the IDE so that the arduino mega  and the ethernet shield work as a expected?

In the long run it may be better to modify the wiring interface between the boards than trying to manage modified librarys.
Logged

Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.   smiley-cool

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I agree!

But I don't know what to change in the wiring.

I already connected pin 13 -> 52
                           pin 12 ->

Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I agree!

But I don't know what to change in the wiring.

I already connected pin 13 -> 52
                           pin 12 -> 50
                           pin 11 -> 51
                           pin 10 -> 53

So what can i change in the wiring so that it will work with the native library?


                     

Logged

Miramar Beach, Florida
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 147
Posts: 6040
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I would not connect pin 53 to pin 10. Both those pins on the Arduino should be set to OUTPUT. That may be part of the problem. Leave pin 10 on the shield connected to pin 10 on the Arduino. As far as I can see on the schematic, only the three SPI data lines need to be jumpered.

I have not tried that.

If you want the simplest (not cheapest) solution, use a newer model ethernet shield.

Edit: This is under the assumption that your ethernet shield does not have the ICSP header on the bottom of the shield. If it has that connector, you do not need to jumper anything.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 07:08:12 am by SurferTim » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 8
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

SUPER!

that was it. Just leave pin 10 connected to the board instead of bending it.

Thanks very much!.

With kind regards,
Martin
Logged

Oslo
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is there any chance you could post a photograph or your Ethernet shield together with any information you have about which version or revision it is?  I'm trying to assemble a visual catalogue of Ethernet shields since the Arduino folks aren't diligent enough to print a version number on them.
Logged

Miramar Beach, Florida
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 147
Posts: 6040
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I think this is the shield. The noticeable difference is the lack of the ICSP header under the shield.
http://www.cutedigi.com/images/00666-02-L.jpg
http://www.cutedigi.com/images/09026-02-L.jpg

If the shield has that connector, then the "pin bending" is not required.

Add: This is called the "old version 2009".
As long as you have the pics, maybe the schematic for this version would be helpful.
http://www.cutedigi.com/pub/Arduino/arduino-ethernet-shield-schematic.pdf

« Last Edit: January 01, 2012, 07:05:00 am by SurferTim » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, that's the board i'm talking about.

Martin.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: