Go Down

Topic: 36V brushless 800W hub motor (Read 275 times) previous topic - next topic

Stick10

hello,

I have this 36V brushless 800W bicycle hub motor. I am trying to use an arduino to control the "throttle" with a Potentiometer. I already have 3 x 12V batteries hooked in series.

What are my options in terms of what arduino I should get? I am not very experienced when it comes to these types of components but my goal is to try and avoid using a purchased controller. My main goal is to simply control the motor with this potentiometer.

The motor has hall sensors as well. If there is any other info I can give to assist let me know and any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks

allanhurst

You'd be much better off with a purchased controller.  You may well be able to read the throttle easily with an arduino, but you then  have the ( much bigger ) problem of driving the 3-phase motor .

regards

Allan

jremington

I second the above. There is really no way around buying the appropriate motor controller.

MarkT

If you are experienced in power electronics and DC motor controller design then a
motor controller for a BLDC would make an interesting project, if not its still an
interesting project with a lot of learning and (expensive) mistakes along the way.

Get the cheap chinese eBike motor controller for that motor and interface to its
throttle control.

Is this for a bike or something else (if so are you looking for bidirectional control?)
[ I will NOT respond to personal messages, I WILL delete them, use the forum please ]

Stick10

Thanks for the responses. Maybe I am a little over my head when it comes to this little project I would like to do.

How about this, let's say I buy a controller for this motor that comes wired with a throttle connection. Is there a diy on making that throttle switch? Instead of just buying one? Just trying to avoid the buy and install method.