Go Down

Topic: General question of microstepping a stepper motor? (Read 192 times) previous topic - next topic

kbrown

Hi,

I'm using a Pololu 1182 (An Allegro A4988 based) stepper motor driver which is capable of 16th microsteps. Everything works just fine but I have a generic question about micro steps as I'm fairly new to stepper motors in general: Let's say you drive your motor 5 microsteps (out of 16 possible) forward. What will happen if you cut off the current to the motor at this stage? Will it just return to the previous full step position as it didn't really reach half way of a full step yet? Or will it just stop where it is?

Cheers,
Kari
Cheers,
Kari

Peter_n

When the device is powered again, and the code starts again, it could start with the position at 5 micro steps. In theory the stepper motor would continue from where it was. However, I think that might not work. The stepper motor might change a little when not powered (it probably will) and I also doubt if the software and hardware can start with a micro step.

When the code starts with a full step, the stepper motor will move to the nearest full step.

To know the previous position when the devices is powered again, a positioning system would be needed that even can determine microsteps. I think that is not possible.

That is why a device returns to a 'home' position (where an optocoupler or switch indicates the 'home' position) after power up.

kbrown

Thanks Pete!

That's what I was suspecting too and it does make sense. The only reason why I asked was because my application is a battery operated one and I was wondering if I could save some amps by turning the stepper motor driver off when a movement is not required. But to hold a microstep driven position you need to keep the coils energized, I guess...
Cheers,
Kari

Peter_n

Jun 18, 2015, 06:06 am Last Edit: Jun 18, 2015, 06:08 am by Peter_n