Go Down

Topic: Did I recieve a bad stepper motor? (Read 280 times) previous topic - next topic

Dantor19

Hello all.  I am pretty new to Arduino, and to C++, but less new to electronics in general.  I recently recieved my Arduino Uno kit that came with a stepper motor and stepper driver board.   I have run some successful tests using a potentiometer and LED's, but am having trouble with this stepper.  It almost seems like its missing a phase.  Certain speeds kinda work, but most commanded speeds don't produce any rotation, but the motor is vibrating, and generating a significant amount of heat.  I am using the stepper_speedControl example, and providing seperate 11.5v to the stepper driver board. 
I'm using pins 8 through 11 for data to the motor driver, and using anolog pin 0 as the input reference.  I have similar results whether I use the 3v or 5v for the potentiometer supply voltage.  Is the stepper not functioning correctly, or is my method incorrect?

Dantor19

I almost forgot,  I am using a 28BYJ-48 step motor, and I am unsure of the correct # of steps to define in the sketch.  There seems to be a lot of conflicting information out there on this very topic.  When I use the Stepper_oneRevolution sketch, and define 512 steps, it seems to function smoothly-ish, but only turns about a quarter turn before pausing to reverse direction.  Any thoughts?

Zapro

Dec 28, 2015, 08:31 pm Last Edit: Dec 28, 2015, 08:32 pm by Zapro
I see no ground connection from your Arduino to the stepper-motor driver (ULN2003)?

Unless you are using radio signals, you /need/ the ground connection.

After all this is an electronic circuit - without any return path, there is no circuit :D

// Per.

Dantor19

Where would I attach ground to on the driver board?  There aren't any available pins left to connect an additional ground.