Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: yet another TLC5940 (TLC5941) project...  (Read 1746 times)
WA, USA
need some idea...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i am totally new to Arduino world.  i am testing out some idea from scratch so that i can really understand what it can do.  i understand that there's a nice LIB for 5940 but i wanted to do everything myself to learn the hard way.  Since 5941 was a bit cheaper, i am using 5941 instead of 5940.

My end goal is to have 16 x 32 RGB matrix display with a clock or something.  Due to memory limitation, i don't think i can have full set of colors with 16x32 but i should be able to do 16bit color (maybe 15 (3 x 5bits).  At least that's my goal.   smiley-wink

i got it to work with 8x32 in Red/Green LED matrix.  I only have green wired so far.  I have to setup 2 more 5941 to wire up Red LEDs.  With just 1 color, i do have full 12bit brightness control and can address each pixles (like VGA frame buffer)  I did somewhat simulated 6 TLC5941 scenario and i think i can make it.  

I have 74HC595 to drive/switch rows and TLC5941 and TLC5940 (yes, one each).

this is going to be a slow project since i do have a day job and playing Halo Reach here and there...

just wanted to say hello to the community....  :smiley

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tokuro/5005074570/ for a bigger photo.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2010, 12:09:08 pm by tokuro » Logged

UK
God Member
Twitter: @simonmonk2
View Profile

Very good - hope you have lots of jumper wires smiley-wink

--
My New Arduino Book: http://www.arduinobook.com

WA, USA
need some idea...
View Profile

An update...