Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: modeling guitar amp  (Read 664 times)
La Crosse, WI
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello all! Brand newbie here, waiting to get my first arduino in the mail but pretty psyched to get started. Anyway I am planning on controlling my guitar amp, a Vox Mini 3, specifically I want it to act like a multi channel amp by presetting a couple of trim pots in three seperate circuits to control the onboard amp modeling potentiometer (10k 11 position), gain potentiometer (10k linear), tone potentiometer (10k linear), and be able to bypass and use the amp functions as normal. I was thinking I could make a footswitch with three buttons tied low with five volt going to my controller when pressed that would activate the seperate circuits. By putting the modeling selector in the middle of its range and connecting a 10k trimmer in parallel I was able to select the amp model that I wanted, and could do the same with tone and gain pots. My question is with the two 10k pots in parallel like that wouldn't the resistance be roughly 5k and will the controller agree with that resistance? Seems like I read somewhere that they are pretty particular about the impedence they see. Any help, direction, or ideas would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance! Jeff

Fools are the only people on earth who can absolutely count on getting what they deserve.

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

My question is with the two 10k pots in parallel like that wouldn't the resistance be roughly 5k and will the controller agree with that resistance?
Which controller? The Arduino will be OK with 5K resistors. Extremes like 100M cause some issues, but anything in the 2K to 50K range will work.

La Crosse, WI
View Profile