Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down
Author Topic: Serial oscilloscope  (Read 6294 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
France
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 266
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm unfortunately not at the moment checking issues because my first problem now requires to have clear instructions on how to compile arduino code, java code on my iMAc G5 running with Tiger smiley-sad
Logged

Sophia-Antipolis (06)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 4
Posts: 618
Rejoignez le club !
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If your first problem has already been encountered by other users, checking issues may avoid you to search the problem on your side but shows directly that the software installation is not good at all (and it seems).

Whatever, I can explain what I did to test it :

- download the source code from SVN

- take the sketch (.pde) in "arduino-arduinoscope" directory and put it in a directory with name "arduinoscope" under your Arduino sketch folders, and rename the .pde in "arduinoscope" (character - is not allowed if I recall), and transfer to your Arduino
 
- take the examples in the processing directory, and copy "arduinoscope.java" in each of them, beside the example .pde, and copy examples in your own processing sketch folder

It seems that the author tried to make a library from his code but did not succeed. Try to contact him by email.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2009, 04:53:59 am by julien@pobot.org » Logged

France
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 266
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
If your first problem has already been encountered by other users, checking issues may avoid you to search the problem on your side but shows directly that the software installation is not good at all (and it seems).
Ok thx, i'm not very used to share code servers so I see what you meant initially. i've looked on the issues, the only applying to my situation is http://If your first problem has already been encountered by other users, checking issues may avoid you to search the problem on your side but shows directly that the software installation is not good at all (and it seems). since I have a classic G5 mac hence no intel involved.

I've taken the arduino-scope.pde under an "arduinoscope" skektch folder. It compiles fine then dowloaded ok on my arduino board.

Where do you find "arduinoscope.java" in order to copy it inside each example ?

Another thing: I've moved examples so arduino can compile then dowload but compilation fails with this comment for example on "Simple SerialArduinocope.pde"
Code:
error: variable or field 'controlEvent' declared void In function 'void setup()':
 In function 'void draw()':
 At global scope:

As I wrote before, the only thing working is "SimpleSerialArduinoscope.app" which i download from the server under "application-macosx.zip". It dsiplays 6 scope visualisations screen but they are silent so I don't understand how to establich protocol between arduino board and this shell.
Logged

Sophia-Antipolis (06)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 4
Posts: 618
Rejoignez le club !
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

the examples are for Processing, not Arduino.

on your Arduino board, you run a program compiled from sketch "arduinoscope" and transferred into your Arduino board using serial cable.

on Processing development platform, you load an example, change some parameters (number of your serial port where the Arduino board is connected), then run the software on your Mac

the cable between your Mac and the Arduino board is used to transfer information from the input/output pins

Logged

France
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 266
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
on Processing development platform, you load an example, change some parameters (number of your serial port where the Arduino board is connected), then run the software on your Mac
Ok I understand now so I'll load Processing software but why the author called these examples under *.pde ?

Have you run successfully this otehr application http://accrochages.drone.ws/en/node/90 or is same  issue as arduinoscope ?
Logged

Sophia-Antipolis (06)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 4
Posts: 618
Rejoignez le club !
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

In fact, *.pde comes initially from Processing, and Arduino kept the same extension rather than calling it for example *.ade (as pde means Processing Development Environment). It seems now too late the change the extension (see Arduino website on pending issues).

Whatever, it is the normal way and even if the author of Arduinoscope did some mistakes in the packaging of its software making it uneasy to use for a beginner, it is quite usual and you must prepare to see same issues on several other software (even mine I must admit due to lack of time to check if all libraries are packaged with, if all version of software compiles). Arduino and Processing are made for "quick prototypes" and amateur hands-on experiments..

Yes, I know accrochages minimal oscilloscope and I extended myself it  to have more inputs (5D gyro/accelero) and even a radar-stylish oscilloscope : http://www.pobot.org/Visualisation-radar-d-une.html
Logged

France
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 266
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
In fact, *.pde comes initially from Processing, and Arduino kept the same extension rather than calling it for example *.ade (as pde means Processing Development Environment). It seems now too late the change the extension (see Arduino website on pending issues).
I knew there was soem esoteric or hidden story behind all that smiley-sad
Quote
Whatever, it is the normal way and even if the author of Arduinoscope did some mistakes in the packaging of its software making it uneasy to use for a beginner, it is quite usual and you must prepare to see same issues on several other software (even mine I must admit due to lack of time to check if all libraries are packaged with, if all version of software compiles). Arduino and Processing are made for "quick prototypes" and amateur hands-on experiments..
i'm quite new to arduino world or more generally to DIY quick prototyping: many thx for your wisdom advice.

Your radar demo & site are quite cool.

It seems to me the real issue on arduinoscope is finding a specific protocol & hosting visual machine able to transfer high or bandwith volumes of samples without stealing too much local CPU on arduino & computer. If too fast, need detecting error or error-correcting errors. Other option si compressing data but problem is arduino is not DSP oriented smiley-sad

Maybe you saw the other threads on this issue, what woudl you advise for a Mac user as myself so I can have a decent scope on my Mac in order to scan some of power electronics circuit signals ?

Amicalement

Logged

Sophia-Antipolis (06)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 4
Posts: 618
Rejoignez le club !
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

There is another oscilloscope completely Mac-oriented, but don't remember its name (not Mac myself).

But in fact these oscilloscopes are meant to debug Arduino's signals or signals for equipment usually connected to the Arduino.

If you want a simple but efficient oscilloscope for quite the same price of one Arduino : http://nkcelectronics.com/digital-storage-oscilloscope-very-low-cost.html

Logged

France
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 266
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
In fact, *.pde comes initially from Processing, and Arduino kept the same extension rather than calling it for example *.ade (as pde means Processing Development Environment). It seems now too late the change the extension (see Arduino website on pending issues).
i've downloaded Processing & what a surprise indeed to discover Arduino interface comes from it ! Their library has even sample codes working along with arduino regarding serial communication.

Do you consider processing SDK to be the best choice to develop graphic interface for someone like myself who has no experience in java or object oriented programming ?

Since arduino interface is build on Processing SDK, is there a way to modify arduino SDK in order to modify & upgrade the arduino basic serial monitor so it would provide for example mouse click button, parameter capture, menu selection, graphic display as small scope,...

http://nkcelectronics.com/digital-storage-oscilloscope-very-low-cost.html says "Product Description - This is an AVR based ultra low cost digital storage oscilloscope" so does it mean we can do same bandwith or do they use a faster ADC not found in AVR ?
« Last Edit: November 15, 2009, 11:28:40 pm by selfonlypath » Logged

Sophia-Antipolis (06)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 4
Posts: 618
Rejoignez le club !
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

Yes, even for a non-Java or non-OO coder I advice Processing, just by copy/paste/arrange of examples.

Yes the Arduino software being open source you can imagine making improvements. Contact them directly (but not so obvious, as the SDK does not use itself so I don't think the IDE code is as simple as the sketchs may be).

In fact it is based on AVR so I am not sure if the ADC is faster. Just compare the specifications (and don't hesitate to contact NKC Electronics guy himself).
Logged

France
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 266
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've looked at NKC electronics spec and they use an Atmega64 which from Atmegae328 or Atmega1280 have roughly same ADC spec on sampling speed, number of bits,...

How can they provide suche feature
Quote
Max sample rate - 5M/s (AUTO mode)[ch65292]8 bits
Atmega runs at 16MHz, the max free sampling with no scaling is much lower than 5Ms/s since it involves 13 cycles in free running mode !!!

Do you think NKC scope are only made to display PWM signals or can they display more complex signals ?
« Last Edit: November 28, 2009, 11:04:53 pm by selfonlypath » Logged

Sophia-Antipolis (06)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 4
Posts: 618
Rejoignez le club !
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

PWM are digital signals, and this oscilloscope can shows analog signals (such as sensors). I see it like a debug tool when you are unsure if your program handles right or if it is an hardware failure.

Of course you will not see small details.
Logged

France
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 266
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What i meant with my question: how can NKC scope be able to claim 5Ms/s since it can not be reached with Atmega64 ADC requiring 13 or 14 cycles at 16MHz to measure one sample ?

About my other question, I meant: do you think NKC scope are only made to display analog square wave duty cycle signals or can they display more complex signals as sinusoidal, saw tooth or even more complex analog signals ?
« Last Edit: November 29, 2009, 04:57:53 am by selfonlypath » Logged

Sophia-Antipolis (06)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 4
Posts: 618
Rejoignez le club !
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I don't know. Are you sure they are using a 16 MHz ? Contact them, I am interested with the answer too.. I will receive mine soon.

Look at the doc : there are saw tooth and more complex analog.
Logged

France
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 266
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok i'll contact them and ask more info smiley-wink

So you have order their product ?
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
Jump to: