Poll
Question: Is why really important here?
Yes! An arduino without purpose is wasted. - 2 (28.6%)
No! Utilitarianism is the enemy of true science! - 5 (71.4%)
Total Voters: 6

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Netbook With Arduino Pro Inside!  (Read 2525 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Maitland, Australia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 88
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I got tired of hooking up the USB on my Duemilanove and put an Arduino Pro Mini inside my netbook. Check it out!
http://arduinoetcetera.blogspot.com/2011/01/hardware-hack-arduino-inside.html
Logged

There are 3 kinds of people in the world. Those who are good at maths, and those who aren't.

Central MN, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 73
Posts: 7197
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Interesting idea but how do you test your codes without any hardware connected to the arduino?
Logged


Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 23
Posts: 1375
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If you need no extra hardware to test code, you could have always used a simulator
Logged

Mercadillo electrónico. Kit iniciación a Arduino, shield LCD a color y más cosas!

Kortrijk, Belgium
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 151
Young geek
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You could also just compile your code without uploading?
Logged

Sorry God members, I'm an atheist.

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 38
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I like the idea behind the life clock.

But shouldnt u use it for much more happy event, dunno if its smart  to remind u of u know what all the time.
Logged

Maitland, Australia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 88
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey doublet,

Yeah I can compile without a controller. But how do you test code without running it? [Edit] If there is a simulator/emulator let me know eh?
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 06:27:48 am by prawnhead » Logged

There are 3 kinds of people in the world. Those who are good at maths, and those who aren't.

Kortrijk, Belgium
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 151
Young geek
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Google for 'Virtual Breadboard' smiley
EDIT: can't. stand. helping. http://www.virtualbreadboard.net/
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 06:47:03 am by doublet » Logged

Sorry God members, I'm an atheist.

Chester, UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 2
Posts: 489
Trying to return the love to none logic level MOSFETS
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If you brought all of the pins out to a connector it would be interesting smiley
Logged

If your system involves lethal voltages/life critical/flamable elements - you probably shouldn't need to ask.
The Arduino != PC.

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 361
Posts: 17294
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Interesting idea. If the wire leads on your internal USB cable is made long enough it looks like it would not be difficult to just remove the cover and lift the attached arduino to the side of the netbook. That way you could access the pins for actual hardware testing. Don't know if the Arduino mega footprint would fit in there, but the Seeeduino mega has the same footprint as the standard arduino plus uses the smaller usb connector.


Too bad the only lap top I own only runs windows 98, I don't think it can run the arduino IDE.

Lefty
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 10:42:14 am by retrolefty » Logged

India
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 131
The Tech Gamer
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Nice, I was actually wondering if there was a virtual arduino type of thing, it exists! smiley
Logged

|I love Technology|

Kortrijk, Belgium
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 151
Young geek
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Too bad the only lap top I own only runs windows 98, I don't think it can run the arduino IDE.
I got it running on a 10 years old Acer Aspire with Windows 2K and 128mb. You can download an old version of JAVA here (apperently current versions don't support 98 and ME): http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/archive-139210.html, if that laptop doesn't have JAVA.
Logged

Sorry God members, I'm an atheist.

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 23
Posts: 1375
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Proteus has an AVR Simulator: http://www.labcenter.com/products/avr.cfm
Logged

Mercadillo electrónico. Kit iniciación a Arduino, shield LCD a color y más cosas!

Phoenix, Arizona USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 40
Posts: 5577
Where's the beer?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Too bad the only lap top I own only runs windows 98, I don't think it can run the arduino IDE.

If you can live without 98, I'd reformat it, install a version of Linux in console-only mode (or a very lightweight x-window install - not KDE or Gnome!), then pull in the the avr tools, compiler, libs, etc - plus the arduino libs, and do it command-line style.

Heck - I have such a laptop out in my shop; maybe -I- should give it a try...

 ;D
Logged

I will not respond to Arduino help PM's from random forum users; if you have such a question, start a new topic thread.

Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 3
Posts: 716
a, b = b, a+b
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Now, if you could just bring the pins outside this would be amazing. As is, its a cool hack, but in my opinion, pointless hack.

(of course, now I am wondering if I could do the same to my laptop. damn you :-P ...)
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 02:50:13 pm by fkeel » Logged


Left Coast, CA (USA)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 361
Posts: 17294
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

 I still think it is a useful idea. It would allow someone to continue working on their project coding no matter where they might be. Later another external arduino board could then be attached externally, the sketch reloaded and then tested with all the real I/O it will be using. It's in effect a simulator just lacking external I/O simulation, which could still be useful in some phases of sketch development. Keep in mind that real serial communications to the laptop will still be avalible while mounted inside the laptop.

Lefty
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 03:21:30 pm by retrolefty » Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: