Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Fade light 220VAC  (Read 1021 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi to all! this is my first post smiley-wink

I ve made a relay shield for the automation of light in my room with a ENC28J60 ethernet module and arduino.. so.. now I want (if is possible, but i think yes) the fade on the light for 1 or 2 seconds...
The light is a 220v spot. There's 3 spot with 35 watt every spot.
I'm a newbie in electronics so i think to put a capacitor (with a diode I think) to allow an slow increase voltage in the light, this means a simple fade in and fade out...

I hope somebody can help me smiley

Edison Member
View Profile

NOTE _ I've done this before, but with a different microcontroller.

I'm a newbie in electronics so i think to put a capacitor (with a diode I think) to allow an slow increase voltage in the light, this means a simple fade in and fade out...
smiley-sad It's not quite so simple with AC power.  A light dimmer works by turning on & off once per half-cycle (100 times per second at 50hz line frequency).

For example, if you turn the power on at the positive AC peak (90 degrees), off at the zero-crossing, and on again at the negative peak (270 degrees), you effectively get half-voltage.  If you turn-on near 0 degrees, you get full-brightness.  If you turn-on near 180 degrees, the light will be very dim.    Of course, you don't need to know the phase angle, you just calculate the time from the zero-crossing, based on your power line frequency.)

You also need to isolate the power line voltage from your low-voltage control circuit.

First, you need to detect the zero-crossings (or near zero crossings).   A comparator on the secondary of your power transformer should work. (The transformer provides isolation for the phase-detection part of the circuit.)   There may be some phase-shift through the transformer, so you might have to experiment with the timing.