Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Zwave  (Read 5452 times)
Portugal
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

hello all...

im interested in arduino and zwave projects, but since i'm not an expert (not even close) and after some research and i found this and i wonder if its of any use for arduino...

http://media.digikey.com/pdf/Data%20Sheets/Zensys%20PDFs/ZM3102N.pdf

this is the datasheet for the ZM3102N Z-Wave Module based on the ZW0301 Z-Wave Single Chip.

i believe that the chip can be purchased for less than 4,50$ each. http://www.z-wavealliance.org/modules/iaCM-ZW-PR/readMore.php?id=28311552

"...The ZM3102 will cost less than $4.50 in volume.[DWF1] ..."

maybe the more expert people can tell if this is good intel or not... anyway, just trying to help smiley

Thanks

Massachusetts, USA
Tesla Member
View Profile

DigiKey.com has them for $6.68.25, if you buy 1000.  Single units are $12.38 and the first price break is 25 units ($10.1476 each)

When, back in 2006, they predicted "The ZM3102 will cost less than $4.50 in volume." they might have been thinking of much higher volumes.

Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

View Profile

The ZM3102N has flash memory for the Z-Wave stack and the application.  I would imagine that the $4.50 price was targeted at OTP (one time program) applications for real quantities.  But $12 is not bad in small quantities to get a project off the ground.

I have a Vera-2 controller and about 45 devices in my home, including light switches, dimmers, switched electric outlets, thermostat, key-entry, door and window sensors, occupation sensors, etc.  The applications where I would be interested in building an Arduino ZWave shield would be for special sensors and controls. 

Sensors on my wish list:
1) Water detection sensors for under the sinks in the bathrooms and kitchen, under the hot water heater and in the basement.