Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino as ISP, Mininial Circuit Error- pins_arduino.h No such file..  (Read 4996 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
I'm wanting to program an atmega 328 using ArduinoISP and the minimal circuit setup.
this is what I have done
1) uploaded the arduinoISP to my Duemilanove board, I'm working in arduino 1.0 IDE. followed instructions http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoISP
2) Setup that i have used see http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard, refer bottom of the page for miminal setup


also tried a 120ohm resistor between reset and 5V.

The error that I get in both cases is:
"C:\Arduino\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/Arduino.h:212:26: error: pins_arduino.h: No such file or directory"

looks like I have missed something. Can anyone point me in the right direction.
Logged

Massachusetts, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 201
Posts: 8669
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That looks like a compiler error.  Were you trying to verify or upload a sketch?  My first guess wold be that your Arduino installation is not complete.
Logged

Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I was trying to upload a sketch to a blank atmega328. I'll reinstall and have another go. I have been able to upload other sketches but just not via arduino as ISP. I was thinking it was something, maybe to do with the "atmega on breadboard (8Mhx internal clock)" board file that was installed i.e. the breadboard.zip. When I looked at it I didn't see anything that referenced arduinoISP, this is what it is:
##############################################################

atmega328bb.name=ATmega328 on a breadboard (8 MHz internal clock)

atmega328bb.upload.protocol=stk500
atmega328bb.upload.maximum_size=30720
atmega328bb.upload.speed=57600

atmega328bb.bootloader.low_fuses=0xE2
atmega328bb.bootloader.high_fuses=0xDA
atmega328bb.bootloader.extended_fuses=0x05
atmega328bb.bootloader.path=arduino:atmega
atmega328bb.bootloader.file=ATmegaBOOT_168_atmega328_pro_8MHz.hex
atmega328bb.bootloader.unlock_bits=0x3F
atmega328bb.bootloader.lock_bits=0x0F

atmega328bb.build.mcu=atmega328p
atmega328bb.build.f_cpu=8000000L
atmega328bb.build.core=arduino:arduino

should be be "atmega328bb.upload.protocol=stk500"?
anyway I will reinstall and see if that makes a difference.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi John
thanks for your last comment. Still learning this environment and now see what you mean. I've reinstalled everything and makes not different but it is a verify/compile issue not upload.

This time tried with blink example code (no changes and just used everything as described). Here is the error
C:\Arduino\arduino-1.0\hardware\tools\avr\bin\avr-g++ -c -g -Os -Wall -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -mmcu=atmega328p -DF_CPU=8000000L -DARDUINO=100 -IC:\Arduino\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino C:\DOCUME~1\User\LOCALS~1\Temp\build3115065296870135004.tmp\Blink.cpp -oC:\DOCUME~1\User\LOCALS~1\Temp\build3115065296870135004.tmp\Blink.cpp.o
In file included from Blink.cpp:8:
C:\Arduino\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/Arduino.h:212:26: error: pins_arduino.h: No such file or directory


can anyone point me in the right direction to fix this issue?

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK take another go at this and it definitely the board selection. choosing the uno instead of the Atmega328 on breadboard verifies/compiles so there is something happening with the setting of this board (Atmega328 on breadboard ).

Logged

Denmark
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1051
Happy Hobbyist
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Obviously you are missing the file pins_arduino.h, it should be in
hardware\arduino\cores\arduino


Logged

Tokyo, Japan
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

New in Arduino 1.0 is the hardware/arduino/variants, you need to add a variant to your boards.txt like this:

atmega328bb.build.variant=standard
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 06:45:59 am by karl_b » Logged


0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Erni
looks like the pins_arduino.h files are there but not in the location you are talking about. In ...arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\variants there are several folders (eightanaloginputs, leonardo, mega, micro and standard) each of these has a pins_arduino.h
This looks right to me, but I am not expert.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Karl_b
thanks for that, tried what you said and added that line to boards but made not difference smiley-sad
Deleted the boards from from my sketchbook location and appended the boards information to the boards.txt file in ...arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino (not sure that its good practice but ...)
This compiled smiley so that was good news. But still was not uploading properly. So I compared the information with Attiny code that uses the arduino as ISP and noticed that "Atmega328 on breadboard" that this line "atmega328bb.upload.protocol=stk500" seemed strange to me so I replaced it with "atmega328bb.upload.using=arduino:arduinoisp", which is what we are doing.
This worked smiley so I'm very happy with. So here is my boards information for AtMega328 on breadboard(8Mhz internal clock), thanks for you help Karl_b great to get jigwas together.
If anyone can see any problems with this let me know.
Quote
##############################################################

atmega328bb.name=ATmega328 on a breadboard (8 MHz internal clock)

atmega328bb.upload.using=arduino:arduinoisp
atmega328bb.upload.maximum_size=30720
atmega328bb.upload.speed=57600

atmega328bb.bootloader.low_fuses=0xE2
atmega328bb.bootloader.high_fuses=0xDA
atmega328bb.bootloader.extended_fuses=0x05
atmega328bb.bootloader.path=arduino:atmega
atmega328bb.bootloader.file=ATmegaBOOT_168_atmega328_pro_8MHz.hex
atmega328bb.bootloader.unlock_bits=0x3F
atmega328bb.bootloader.lock_bits=0x0F

atmega328bb.build.mcu=atmega328p
atmega328bb.build.f_cpu=8000000L
atmega328bb.build.core=arduino:arduino
atmega328bb.build.variant=standard

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 27
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

hah! I just posted about the same problem. Apparently the boards.txt loading from sketchbook/hardware folder is broken. Works fine in 022, broken in 1.0
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It seems that "boards.txt loading from sketchbook/hardware folder is" STILL broken as of 1.0.4

Where do we report issues?
Logged

texas
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 27
Posts: 862
old, but not dead
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sounds like you created a new folder under the hardware folder to contain your new boards.txt file.  In order for the compiler to find the right arduino_pins.h header is for the build.variant line to look like this:

atmega328bb.build.variant=arduino:standard

By the way, that baud rate has to match the baud used by the ArduinoISP sketch (mine came set to 19200).  Trying high baud rates created new problems with data overruns.  You might also want to find your programmers.txt file and set the baud for ArduinoISP there too.

Here is the whole board description for my mega328p running at 20MHz on a breadboard:
Code:
MWB20MHz.name=ATmega328 on a breadboard (20 MHz external clock)

### MWB20MHz.upload.protocol=stk500v1     # commented to allow the upload.using line to work right
MWB20MHz.upload.maximum_size=32256
MWB20MHz.upload.speed=19200
MWB20MHz.upload.using=arduino:arduinoisp

MWB20MHz.bootloader.low_fuses=0xF7
MWB20MHz.bootloader.high_fuses=0xDE
MWB20MHz.bootloader.extended_fuses=0x05
MWB20MHz.bootloader.path=arduino:optiboot
MWB20MHz.bootloader.file=optiboot_atmega328__20MHz.hex
MWB20MHz.bootloader.unlock_bits=0x3F
MWB20MHz.bootloader.lock_bits=0x0F

MWB20MHz.build.mcu=atmega328p
MWB20MHz.build.f_cpu=20000000L
MWB20MHz.build.core=arduino:arduino
MWB20MHz.build.variant=arduino:standard
« Last Edit: April 21, 2013, 09:56:00 am by afremont » Logged

Experience, it's what you get when you were expecting something else.

Anaheim CA.
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 46
Posts: 2865
...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Did you get the millis / micros() issue fixed? and is it possible that you'd be willing to make the boot code available?

Doc
Logged

--> WA7EMS <--
“The solution of every problem is another problem.” -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
I do answer technical questions PM'd to me with whatever is in my clipboard

texas
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 27
Posts: 862
old, but not dead
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Did you get the millis / micros() issue fixed? and is it possible that you'd be willing to make the boot code available?

Doc

I think you are asking me, forgive me if I'm mistaken.  This isn't my thread and I don't want to hijack it.  I'll tail onto the thread I started with details on where I'm at with this.  It's the "pages aren't erased" thread.
Logged

Experience, it's what you get when you were expecting something else.

Anaheim CA.
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 46
Posts: 2865
...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No it was the 20 MHz bootloader I was interested in, You sharing your work... But I'll not hijack it or the thread I can wait until it comes by again..

Doc
Logged

--> WA7EMS <--
“The solution of every problem is another problem.” -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
I do answer technical questions PM'd to me with whatever is in my clipboard

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: