Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Reading Battery Voltage using ADC  (Read 997 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So I have a project in which I test the voltage of AAA batteries. Basically its a product line scenario where batteries are tested for their correct voltage before being packed. I am new to electronics and was not sure hot to read the voltage, through some research I learnt that I might be able to do this by using an  ADC and monitoring the resolution. The Arduino Mega supplies 5v and the batteries are 1.5V so I read that I must apply a Voltage divider. The schematic I found is the following. (see attchment - voltagedivider)

So I hooked up the setup onto a breadboard (see attachment - sensor)

and used the following code to check the resolution

Code:
int sensePin =0;

void setup ()
{
  analogReference(DEFAULT);

Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop ()
{
  Serial.println(analogRead(sensePin));
  delay(2000);

}

On the breadboard view, there are two black leads which the battery is connected across, when i touch them together a resolution of 308 is given, which would equal 1.5V, however when I put a battery in between I get all kinds of resolution.  cant help but think I have not grasped the concept because clearly something is wrong.

* voltagedivider.png (4.06 KB, 91x239 - viewed 15 times.)

* Sensor.jpg (59.99 KB, 819x531 - viewed 19 times.)

Global Moderator
UK
Brattain Member
I don't think you connected the grounds, Dave.
View Profile

I don't understand why you've got a potential divider - just connect a single cell between ground and an analogue input.

"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.

Austin, TX
Faraday Member
Baldengineer
View Profile

The Arduino Mega supplies 5v and the batteries are 1.5V so I read that I must apply a Voltage divider.