Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: A lot of flowsensors  (Read 464 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

I'm a beginner with Arduino but i want to use it for a project at work.
I like to measure water flow with an arduino but i want to measure about 90 different flows.
So i will be measuring 90 different flows on the most simple way.
I've read about a piece of code that can activate internal pull up resistors of the arduino, i hope this would make it possible not to use separate resistor and make connecting them to the arduino more easy. My questions are:
- is this right? about the pull-ups?
- i'm thinking of using a arduino mega or multiple but how much????
- also thinking of a shield to make connecting more easy, are there any????

Hope someone can help me,

greetz Bert (from Holland)

Manchester (England England)
Brattain Member
Solder is electric glue
View Profile

- is this right? about the pull-ups?
Yes.

i'm thinking of using a arduino mega or multiple but how much????
Not sure what you mean, but for 90 sensors you are going to need a few port expander to accommodate them.
90 of anything is not something that a beginner should undertake.
Learn a bit first and only then attempt to do one sensor. These sensors will cost quite a lot especially as you want 90 of them.

View Profile

i'm first trying one sensor, but eventually will be using up to 90 of them.
I'm thinking of 4 mega or so, because of cable managment at my works installation.

Brattain Member
Solder is electric glue
View Profile

Most beginners think of using multiple processors but this is not the way to do it at all.
How do you want to store the results?
You need to use port expanders.

Denmark
God Member
Please don't send questions as PM!
View Profile

If the outputs on the flowsensor is a PWM signal (count pulses per second) AND you can do with measuring a single one at a time, make a network of CD4051 multiplexer chips, then you can read them all.

// Per.