Go Down

Topic: TTL using digital outputs (Read 4775 times) previous topic - next topic

I am new to this game, so please bear with me....  I built an arduino based system that reads in IR beam breaks and sends an output to a computer to read as a TTL.  I used a 1k Ohm resistor in line to all the outputs as recommended, but it appears to cause some variability in the final voltage going out.  I believe I need a 5V signal for at least 250 microseconds to be read as a TTL.  I currently have the "TTL" output turned to high for 200 milliseconds and then turn it to low.  However, when I use a voltmeter, sometimes I see 2V, and sometimes less.  If I extend the amount of time the output is on, I can reliably hit 5V, but this should not be necessary.  Additionally, this causes problems on the computer end, where it starts seeing multiple TTL pulses when I turn the output to high for longer.  please help!

1.  I can use standard outputs to talk to a TTL device right?
2.  would removing the resistor give me better fidelity?

Thank you.

I should specify that this system is set up such that HIGH = true.  Perhaps some of my issues come from the system not equalizing fast enough?

Grumpy_Mike

I used a 1k Ohm resistor in line to all the outputs as recommended,

Who recommends that, no one here.

I can use standard outputs to talk to a TTL device right?

Yes

would removing the resistor give me better fidelity?

Yes a 1K will stop it working like a TTL output.

MarkT

You are using 1k in series?  Try 100 ohms, 1k is much higher than any likely line impedance.  More information on how long the wiring is, whether its UTP, STP, coax or whatever.

TTL inputs will happily be driven by the Arduino no problem.  The other way round would possibly have issues.

I'm assuming the input circuit in the computer is standard TTL levels and you have common grounds?
[ I won't respond to messages, use the forum please ]

Grumpy_Mike

The other way round would possibly have issues.