Go Down

Topic: RF1100-232 serial to RF transceiver module (Read 6108 times) previous topic - next topic

yesyes

Hi,
does anyone have any experience with the RF1100-232 serial to RF transceiver modules?

I got a pair working with default settings but I would like to change some settings (faster baud rate, change the channel, ...). The ebay seller only has a Chinese datasheet but I found the commands on some Russian website. But the module doesn't respond to these commands, instead it transmits the data to the other module.

Do I need to put the module in some kind of command mode?

This is the module I'm talking about:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/290636907725?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649
Chris

Location: Berkshire, UK
My Astro and DIY projects website: http://yesyes.info/

PaulS

Quote
This listing has ended.

So, we can't see what you are talking about.

yesyes

The item description is still there below all those "recommended items" ;-)

But here is the relisted module:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/290672109935?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649
Chris

Location: Berkshire, UK
My Astro and DIY projects website: http://yesyes.info/

yesyes

Oh, and this is the link to the command set that I found:
http://testdrive.kgts.ru/serge/RF1100-232.doc.html
I'm sending these commands as actual bytes, not as text. (I wrote a quick C# application to do that.)
Chris

Location: Berkshire, UK
My Astro and DIY projects website: http://yesyes.info/

yesyes

I've tried this again yesterday and, funny enough, it just worked. The modules now respond to the config commands. I have no idea what I've done differently this time.

I'm still interested if someone has used these modules before. I'd be surprised if noone has used them. They seem to be made for the Arduino world... ;-)
I still have a few things that are not quite clear and there doesn't seem to be much documentation around.

- what is the 16 bit Module ID used for? Can this be used to address a specific transceiver instead of sending everything to all transceivers on the same channel?

- do I need to build a mechanism into the protocol that avoids accidentally sending any of the config commands in the data stream?
Chris

Location: Berkshire, UK
My Astro and DIY projects website: http://yesyes.info/

yesyes

OK, I've learned quite a bit more about these modules. For anyone who might be interested in future, I have created a page on my website where I'm collecting all the info I found about these modules. I've also made a little program that sends config commands to these modules. It can also be used to monitor communication. All that on the following page:
http://www.yesyes.info/index.php/electronics/rf1100-232-rf-433mhz-transceiver-module/
Chris

Location: Berkshire, UK
My Astro and DIY projects website: http://yesyes.info/

llukkari

#6
Oct 09, 2012, 02:43 pm Last Edit: Oct 18, 2012, 02:38 pm by llukkari Reason: 1
I think mine was set to 9600 baud by the factory.

Here are some some code snippets for configuring the device using Arduino. I was using Arduino Mega and the Serial1. Hopefully this maybe helps someone searching for information about this device.

 //change baud rate
 Serial1.write(163);
 Serial1.write(':');
 Serial1.write(1); //options 1 =  4800, 2 = 9600, 3, 19200

 //change channel
 Serial1.write(167);
 Serial1.write('z');
 Serial1.write(20); //options 0 - 255

//change module id
 Serial1.write(169);
 Serial1.write(154);
 Serial1.write(1); //first id byte, options 0-255
 Serial1.write(1); //second id byte, options 0-255

 //change trasmit power
 Serial1.write(171);
 Serial1.write(186);
 Serial1.write(5); //options 0, 5, 7, 10 (dB)

 //read the config
 Serial1.write(166);
 Serial1.write('j');

 delay(1000);

 while(Serial1.available())
 {
   Serial.print(Serial1.read());
 }

Hi guys,

I am new to arduino and all these stuffs. I have a RF1100-232 connected to a Arduino Uno board.

Can a kind soul teach me how to configure the RF1100-232 from the arduino to the RF1100-232?

Thank you very much.

yesyes

Hi,
the config commands for the module are on my website (but I think you may have them already)
http://www.yesyes.info/index.php/electronics/rf1100-232-rf-433mhz-transceiver-module/

You can either connect the module to a TTL level USB to serial adapter, connect that to a computer and then run my configurator program (also on that website) to configure it. Then disconnect the module and connect it to the Arduino. That's how I do it currently. The module remembers its settings without power. However, don't hardwire the module. Occasionally it seems to forget a setting and you will need to disconnect it from the Arduino and configure it again.

The other alternative is to include the module configuration into your Arduino sketch in the setup() function. (this function is being executed once when the Arduino starts up). The tricky part is to configure the baud rate of the module this way. You will need to send the command with the baud rate that the module is currently configured to. In many cases this is not known. So you will need to open and close the Arduino serial port with different baud rates and send the "set baud rate" command. Luckily the module only supports 3 baud rates (4800, 9600 and 19200), so you will only need to do this twice (you don't need to do it with the baud rate you want, because that would be set already). Then, once you have set the baud rate, you open the Arduino serial port with that baud rate and send the remaining commands. I'm planning to do that in my sketches but have not got around to it yet.

I hope that makes any sense. If not, please do ask... ;-)
Chris

Location: Berkshire, UK
My Astro and DIY projects website: http://yesyes.info/

yesyes

I just remembered, you need to leave a 1-2 second pause before each command otherwise the module will send it as a data stream. And you need to send the commands in binary, not as text or so.
Chris

Location: Berkshire, UK
My Astro and DIY projects website: http://yesyes.info/

Go Up