Go Down

Topic: Arduino with an automatic, re-chargeable, battery back-up (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

rturk3

Feb 24, 2012, 09:52 pm Last Edit: Feb 24, 2012, 10:08 pm by rturk3 Reason: 1
Hello all,

I am brand new to Arduino and my first goal is to incorporate a battery back-up into the Arduino that is automatically utilized when the Arduino is unplugged, but is rechargeable when the  board is plugged back in.

Here are my thoughts:

Can I use a sparkfun powercell: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10300 with a li-po battery and connect the 5V output from this board to the Vin of the Arduino?

I know the powercell can provide 5V out and charge at the same time. So instead of powering the Arduino from it's own USB or barrel-jack, I would plug this powercell board into the wall and power the arduino from it. If the USB from the powercell is unplugged, the Arduino would be powered by the battery.

I have NO circuit design experience (yet) so I'm trying to do this as simply as possible.

CrossRoads

You'd want to power this device from a  5V or 6V wallwart and connects its 5V output to the 5V header on the arduino.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

olimexino

olimexino-328 have build-in lipo charger and automatic voltage source switching
http://www.olimex.com/dev

rturk3

So I can power the Arduino from the 5V pin no problem? I have heard some debate about this

So I can power the Arduino from the 5V pin no problem? I have heard some debate about this

I believe so, as long as you are using 5V regulated, if not then use Vin pin. (Someone please correct me if I am wrong)

Are you looking to put something together or is a ready to go solution OK?  I have been looking at the lithium backpack from liquidware for myself, which starts around $35, this might be an option for you.

retrolefty