Go Down

Topic: More flexible interrupt handling in some libraries?? (Read 128 times) previous topic - next topic

PaulM47

Hi, I'm pretty new to Arduinos but have many years of industrial experience with Microchip PIC processors. I'm trying to make use of the interrupts available on the ATmega 328 chip on the UNO/Ethernet boards but keep hitting the problem that available libraries, like the 'SoftwareSerial' and 'EnableInterrupt' libraries I'm trying to use, grab all three available pin change interrupt vectors. I need to do something along the lines of using 'SoftwareSerial' routines on ports B & D ('digital' pins 4-19) but 'EnableInterrupt' routines on port C ('analog' pins 23-28). I can't help thinking it would be relatively easy to make these libraries *default* to grabbing all three interrupts (for inexperienced users) but allow compiler directives to exclude one or more groups (for more experienced users) so two libraries don't cause clashes. e.g.

#softwareserial exclude portC
#enableinterrupt exclude portB
#enableinterrupt exclude portD

to allow me to mix the two as suggested above.

Any mileage in such a suggestion ?? It would certainly add some more flexibility.

Regards
PaulM

Robin2

There are all sorts of situations in which Arduino libraries conflict with each other. There is no standard guidance for writing libraries, or even for documenting the resources that a library uses. There is also the problem that the Arduino has few resources so it may not always be possible to avoid conflicts.

If I understand you correctly, you are suggesting a scheme in which a library might be directed to use different pins or different interrupt vectors so that your code could use the pins or vectors that you would like to use.

I feel bound to suggest that it would be a lot less trouble if your code were to use the pins or vectors that you might redirect the libraries to.