Go Down

Topic: trying to get this to work (Read 7447 times) previous topic - next topic

jimjam

I have been trying to get this to work with the pwm of my arduino.
http://uk.farnell.com/jsp/search/productdetail.jsp?CMP=cmwis_email&sku=1936419
It is a triak with proportional control and is controlled with 2-10v dc. I have made a circuit as below but it does not seem to work. The voltage on the input pins is ok as I get 10v when the pwm pin is at 255 and 5v at 120 etc. do I need to look at another method on the electronics side.
be gentle with me as this is my first project.

Any help would be appreciated.

AWOL

The voltage on the input pins is ok as I get 10v when the pwm pin is at 255 and 5v at 120 etc

Your PWM output is either 5V or 0V.
If you want anything in between, you need to smooth it.
"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.

jimjam

why do I get the correct voltage when I test the  pos neg terminals of the triak. ie analoguewrite 255 I get 10v across the terminal analoguewrite  120 I get 5v . I have tested the triak with a battery and it is working perfect, so the problem has to be my circuit. how can i get the arduino to control 2-10v?

AWOL

when I test the  pos neg terminals of the triak. ie analoguewrite 255 I get 10v across the terminal analoguewrite  120 I get 5v

How are you testing this?
"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.

AWOL

AWOL

I really wasn't expecting that.
The fact remains, that with the circuit you showed, the voltage at the collector of the transistor will be either 0V or 10V.
How your Crydom device responds to this, I have no idea.

jimjam

do you have any other method to allow me to control 0-10v.

AWOL

Yes, you could low-pass filter the PWM.
Sorry, I'm not an analogue person.

CrossRoads