Dynamic Table

Hi,

I just started using arduino for a project I'm working on and I must say it's more fun than I thought. I'm a graphic designer and was afraid to use electronics as I have no experience with this subject. However, the arduino has made this much easier!

I got it to work last night and was able to hook up a servo motor to an Arduino Uno. Now, I need more than 1 servo to run, so I did some research and was hoping you guys could point me in the right direction.

I'll start off by explaining what exaclty I am aiming to do:
Basically it's a table with 48 servo motors which would push cubes up and down. You could see it as a dynamic table surface.
The servo motors will have a gear attached to them so they roll the rail up and down and thus moving a specific cube.

1. I'll need to buy an Arduino Mega instead of the Uno. As the mega can hold up to 48 servos. Am I correct?
    I will probably use this type of motor: http://iprototype.nl/products/robotics/servo-motors/mini-servo

2. The arduino can't power the servos on its own, if I'm not mistaken. So I'll have to find an external power source (power outlet here in Belgium is 220V) How can I hook this up without hurting the hardware ( and myself :> ). I read something about the ground of all the servos, power source and arduino should be connected or the motors won't work.
    The main questions is how to distribute all the power to the servos without blowing them up.

This would get me started. As I said, I have no previous electronic experience and am just learning Ohm's law and stuff, but have a general idea how it works.

Thank you for helping a beginner out :slight_smile:

F

1. I'll need to buy an Arduino Mega instead of the Uno. As the mega can hold up to 48 servos. Am I correct?

Correct.