Go Down

Topic: Getting extremely low range (~2ft) with nrf24l01+ pa lna with external antenna (Read 259 times) previous topic - next topic

Haridhra

Hello there,

I'm using an nrf24l01+ rf transceiver with and arduino uno and raspberry pi.But I'm having some issues with the range, I get only less than 2ft range(at home on the same table!) .I saw that the nrf24l01+ transceiver with the antenna should have a range of about 1km in open field.

The PA level is set to MIN.

I'm transmitting from the arduino and receiving on the pi.

What am I doing wrong? I need some assistance.

Thanks in advance,
Haridhra

Robin2

I have range of at least 30 ft with the cheap nRF24s with the PCB antenna. I have no experience of the high powered version but I have heard that it can overwhelm the receiver - maybe it would work at a much longer distance?

In any case without seing your code it is impossible to make specific suggestions.

Have you any other working nRF24 system, or is this your first attempt?

...R
Two or three hours spent thinking and reading documentation solves most programming problems.

Haridhra

Hello,

First of all thanks for the quick reply! :)

Unfortunately I don't have any other of nrf24l01+ modules and this is my first attempt in RF communication. :(

I have attached the code on arduino with the file name nrf24l01.ino below.Would you need the code on the pi too?

I am not using any capacitor and i am powering the module from the 3.3v pin on the uno, should i power it through the 5v pin and add a step down regulator? I am planning to move my project to the pro mini once i have succeeded in getting a good range with the uno.

Thanks in advance,
Haridhra.

Robin2

I have just had a very quick look at your code. It seems very long and complex. For initial testing I suggest you try something very much simpler that just sends "Hello World" repeatedly.