Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Problem with a menu  (Read 880 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
España
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 69
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello!

I'm using this example http://www.coagula.org/content/pages/tutorial-manage-menu-and-lcd-display-arduino#comment-931 to build a menu. The problems are:
1. Navigating through the menu, when I'm accessing some items I want to  view in real time, the value of a parameter. Is this possible?
2. I want that using this menu to be able to change some parameters using the buttons that are used to navigate; when I enter in a item to be able to go up or down a value and than store it. I'm sure this is possible but I don't know how.

Dose anyone knows how to do this?

Thank you!

PS: Is there any easiest way to build a menu that can handle what I want?
Logged

Central MN, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 64
Posts: 6893
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

olikraus has a menu system that you can take a look at. I know exactly what you are trying to do (or do I?), A menu with numbers changing reflecting some measurements or maybe just clock, then you press right and left on the item to adjust some values. I've not seen much support of that type yet.
Logged


España
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 69
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes! This is exactly what I need. I hope that somebody knows how to do this and and will help me, because is really important to me; I'm not building something for fun, is something for my job.
Thank you!
Logged

Central MN, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 64
Posts: 6893
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes! This is exactly what I need. I hope that somebody knows how to do this and and will help me, because is really important to me; I'm not building something for fun, is something for my job.
Thank you!

In that case there are few options. You can post on gigs and collaborations board to ask someone to do this part for you for payment. My library is not able to do what you wanted. With some heavy modification I can make it do the first (dynamic list text), but the second one is harder. How many items do you have on your menu and how many layers? We might be able to talk this over the gigs and collaborations board if you want me to help out.
Logged


Dubai, UAE
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 21
Posts: 1670
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
   This is how I handle menus, there are of course other approaches -

http://rcarduino.blogspot.com/2012/02/rc-lap-timer-go-kart-lap-timer-part-2.html

Duane B
Logged


España
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 69
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

(...)
My library is not able to do what you wanted.
(...)

"With this library, you can ask user to input numbers, select from a list, or enter a string, which you can use to steer your program execution (menu) or modify how your program runs (parameters such as RPM, delay, brightness),(...)"

With this I thing it will be enough. I want to be able to modify some parameters that are used later in the sketch. I will use the menu only when it starts (to change the parameters) and only if it is necessary (if a button is high when a button is pushed -->MENU, else --> the normal sketch with the default parameters). I think that your library could handle this, couldn't it?
Hey!Are yours all the "phi" stuff ? Are you the developer?
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 12:25:02 pm by suirammarius » Logged

Central MN, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 64
Posts: 6893
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Got your PM. Yes, I developed all the phi_x software libraries and phi-y hardware for arduino. smiley
My menu library can handle the usual stuff. You can also use the library to ask user for numbers etc. But what you wished to do, with dynamically changing menu title/item texts while the user is in the menu, the library can't do it. One has to follow a procedure so that the menu content is updated every time the LCD is refreshed and/or keys are sensed. Some modification to the original library is also needed to do that. My library also supports a virtual layer where you can substitute your original keypad layout with any other layouts you later want, say start with 4 buttons and later went for a matrix keypad and ended up with two clickable rotary encoders. You don't need to change your code at all. Just modify what inputs you have and what each input represents. This layer of virtual reality can be exploited to press buttons wirelessly, over the internet, or dynamically redefine what a button does, all without complicated function calls or switch cases. Give it a go to see if you like it. If you need advanced features, let me know too.
Logged


España
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 69
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you!

Right now I'm downloading the the library end the documentation too.
Keep in touch!  smiley

L.E.:
Wooow! The documentation is GREAT!
THANK YOU!!!
You have another PM smiley
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 02:48:54 pm by suirammarius » Logged

Central MN, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 64
Posts: 6893
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you!

Right now I'm downloading the the library end the documentation too.
Keep in touch!  smiley

L.E.:
Wooow! The documentation is GREAT!
THANK YOU!!!
You have another PM smiley

It took me forever to get the document ready for the latest release. I hope you like the doc.
Logged


España
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 69
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


(...)
 I hope you like the doc.

Yes, I do!  smiley
Logged

España
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 69
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have a problem when I try to compile an example from "phi_examples".
Quote
In file included from phi_prompt_example_int.cpp:58:
D:\Me\arduino-1.0\libraries\WProgram/WProgram.h:7:20: error: wiring.h: No such file or directory
In file included from phi_prompt_example_int.cpp:59:
D:\Me\arduino-1.0\libraries\phi_buttons/phi_buttons.h:46: error: 'byte' does not name a type
.
.
.
.
(etc)

What should I do to solve this error?
Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 548
Posts: 46042
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
D:\Me\arduino-1.0\libraries\WProgram/WProgram.h
The Arduino 1.0 version does not have a WProgram.h How are you getting compile errors related to a non-existant file?
Logged

España
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 69
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sorry!
I changed the WProgram.h with Arduino.h
Now, the error is this:
Quote
D:\Me\arduino-1.0\libraries\phi_prompt\phi_prompt.cpp: In function 'void scroll_bar_v(byte, byte, byte, byte)':
D:\Me\arduino-1.0\libraries\phi_prompt\phi_prompt.cpp:279: error: call of overloaded 'write(int)' is ambiguous
D:\Me\arduino-1.0\libraries\LiquidCrystal/LiquidCrystal.h:82: note: candidates are: virtual size_t LiquidCrystal::write(uint8_t)
D:\Me\arduino-1.0\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/Print.h:49: note:                 size_t Print::write(const char*)
smiley-sad
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 06:28:57 pm by suirammarius » Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 548
Posts: 46042
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is there something about those messages that you don't understand. They seem quite straightforward to me. Not to mention that they've been posted about a bazillion times this month.
Logged

Central MN, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 64
Posts: 6893
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You probably downloaded the old version. Go to the google code page and download the 1.0 version pre-release, not the 20110523 version.
Logged


Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: