Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Help understanding LEDs and V=IR  (Read 911 times)
Dallas
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm a beginner in electronics and Arduino and was hoping to get some clarification on how the output pins on my Arduino Uno work with multiple LEDs.

I had an idea for a project that would consist of a bunch of LEDs (somewhere between 30 to 50 I guess) arranged in a circle and connected to an Arduino that could be worn like a necklace (the Arduino would be used to create a light show of sorts). To simplify the project I was planning on connecting 3-5 LEDs each to 10 of the digital output ports (for a total of 30-50 LEDs, driven in groups of 3-5) instead of trying to use an LED driver (I think that's what the IC is called), but after some research and experimentation I don't think it is realistic to connect and use that many LEDs at once.

I have a ton of questions about electronics and Arduino; it would help me a ton if you could answer any of my questions, which may be horribly misguided to begin with. Also, please explain anything like I'm five years old as I am very confused as it is.

1) Is there a limit to how many LEDs that can be connected to the Arduino? I know this answer will be different for each type of LED, but let's take one of these http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9590 as an example.
2) I read that each output port has a current of 40mA, but with a resistor added I would think the current would be decreased (I=V/R). Is 40mA the limit then, or is there a limit?