Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Using Arduino to control greenhouse cover motor on a schedule/timer  (Read 1591 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

My project is to use an Arduino and a high current motor shield to control a motor in our greenhouse. It seems simple enough to write a program that activates the motor at a certain preset time in one direction and then activate the motor in the opposite direction at another preset time. I have never used an arduino before but have lots of electrical experience and understand important electrical concepts.

What we are trying to do: We have panels on our greenhouse roof that need to be opened and closed at a certain time of day. The motor we will use uses is a 6RPM 12V @ 13A that can handle 450ft-lb torque (800 stall) We need to program the arduino to activate at a certain time to open the panels in one direction for a set amount of time then the same to close in the opposite direction.

What do y'all think about doing something like this? Or how easy would it be?

Thanks!!!  smiley-lol

So, you want to make something, huh?
View Profile

You can use a Realtime clock module like the one herehttp://www.bhashatech.com/breakout-boards/86-i2c-rtc-breakout.html . Or you can build your own using DS 1307 chip. Using a realtime clock module is probably the only way you can know the correct time.

If you want to meet a beautiful nurse you must be patient.

View Profile

thanks for the reply. using the realtime clock in conjunction with an arduino & high current controller, what I had proposed would theoretically work? I have never programmed an arduino but I am a fast learner.

Central MN, USA
Tesla Member
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile