Go Down

Topic: HomeAutomation - Controlling all lighting appliances and more (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Hi,

I have been around on this forum some while now but not really made any noise around here until now. :D

I have been working with automation of my home since 2008 and as we now built our house I decided to go all in with controlling it. Earlier I controlled everything wirelessly with the Tellstick but wireless is always wireless and as the devices I have used have no feedback signal you can´t really tell if the devices have the status you tell them to have, therefore I deciced to go with Arduino.

This is my first Arduino project, but I´m sure it is not the last one :D

Specs:
- Arduino Mega
- Ethernet shield
- IO expander board communicating through I2C (uses MCP23017 chips) - designed by me
- 16 channel relay board

For my house I need at least 35 inputs and 35 outputs which makes the I/O pins even on the Mega not to be enough and therefore I started looking for some way to extend the number of I/Os and ended up with designing and manufacturing a I/O expander card which uses the MCP23017 chip giving 8 inputs and 8 outputs per chip. On the current version (second version) of the IO expander board I have 2 chips but I might change this in some later version. The I/O expander board communicates with the Arduino through I2C and with current configuration I can chain 4 cards giving 64 inputs and 64 outputs.  Every I/O expander board is connected to a 16 channel 10A 250V relay board. The garage has a similar setup but there I only use 1 I/O card and 1 relay card.