Go Down

Topic: Using a Bus Pirate as an Arduino programmer? (Read 19474 times) previous topic - next topic

CoytHV

I am only 16, but I have a lot of experience with microcontrollers. I need an Arduino for a project. I have never used one before, but I have a couple friends who highly recommend them. It does need to be embedded. I want to get two ATmega328's with the Arduino Bootloader to use in my project. I know that I also need a USB to Serial converter to program the chips with the Arduino Software. I was originally going to get the FTDI basic breakout board from Sparkfun, but I then started looking at the Bus Pirate. Can you use the Bus pirate in Transparent UART mode to program the plain ATmega328 chip with the Arduino Bootloader? The Bus Pirate is more expensive than the plain FTDI breakout board, but I could use it for many other projects as well. The only problem that I see is that the FTDI breakout board has TX, RX, CTS, DTR, PWR, and GND, where the Bus Pirate only has TX, RX, PWR, and GND. Does the Arduino really need the CTS and DTR to function?

Thank you!

mowcius

the DTR is the digital reset, can't remember what the CTS is...

You don't need either. You will just have to press the reset button before you upload the sketch this way.

Mowcius

intermelt

I just created a breakout board that programs an Arduino from the Bus Pirate.

First make sure you have the latest firmware on the Bus
Pirate and the latest version of AVRDude.

You connect the MISO and MOSI pins to the MISO and MOSI pins on the Atmega328.  

The SCL/CLK of the Bus Pirate connects to the SCK pin of the Atmega328.

Then connect GND and 3V or 5V to the Atmega328 GND and VCC.  Connect VCC of Atmega328 to AVCC.

Connect CS of Bus Pirate to reset pin of Atmega.  Add a 10K ohm resistor from reset to VCC on Atmega.

This will allow you to program it as long as it is running with the internal oscillator. Add a 16MHz crystal if you need to program one that has the internal oscillator disabled.