Go Down

Topic: Is there a low power mode? (Read 14656 times) previous topic - next topic

chipwich

Hi.  I'm new to arduino, having moved this direction from Picaxe projects.  On the Picaxe, my project were often solar powered.  And even for the battery powered projects, I almost never used an on/off switch since I could place the device in sleep mode (using nanowatts) and occasionally do a button check to see if I should power-up again.

The Arduino seems to be more power hungy, with little attention paid to power saving sleep/nap modes, underclocking, brownout fuse bypass, etc.  I'd like to be able to do small solar powered projects and use device on-off via software instead of a swtich.  Am I missing something in this area?  Are very low-power applications possible?  Thanks.

chipwich

Thank you for the reference.  It's nice to know that the device can power down to 1 uA if the design permits it.

Unfortunately, my arduino boards (all boards?) are based on a 16MHz clock so there's considerably increased power consumption right there.  I can change out the clock crystal, but that would almost definitely break the serial communications including IDE downloads.  

It also doesn't look like the sleep modes, the brownout fuse disable, and other power saving features are exposed to the programmer using the standard arduino IDE.  Are they?

I appreciate the help.

florinc

chipwich

Thanks!  It's a little cumbersome, but the nightingale example looks quite workable as a method of using the watchdog timer to wake up the device.  I suppose that explicitly (re)setting the watchdog timer before each sleep provides a method of making the device sleep for X milliseconds upon request.  

scottmcphee

Oct 29, 2009, 02:04 am Last Edit: Oct 29, 2009, 02:06 am by scottmcphee Reason: 1
I'm looking for something related to sleep modes.