Need a low frequency (can preset at each value of 15Hz to 25Hz) PWM signal

Hi,

I am replacing the PWM signal input to my treadmill. It is to the motor controller board that then drives the 2.5HP motor. . I know the controller board needs a 5v (@ Hi) input signal frequency of somewhere between 15 and 25Hz (I need to preset to each frequency value and, by trial and error, find the exact frequency that triggers the motor movement. The duty cycle will be in the range of 15% to 85% for the motor speed range.

I am very new to Arduino coding. I have successfully put together a potentiometer analog input and pin 9 output that has a PWM output that gives the 15% to 85% duty cycle range using the mapping of input range 0-1023 to output 0-255. It is successful in adjusting an LED brightness (but not to get the motor to work).

The problem is that the lowest frequency I have been able to set the Arduino circuit is 30.5Hz by using the code line:
TCCR1B = TCCR1B & B11111000 | B00000101

The motor control board does not work at this frequency and is known to be very sensitive to the input frequency of the PWM (known to be somewhere in the range 15Hz-25Hz depending on the board).

I'm seeking help with a source for the Arduino code needed to specifically have a lower PWM frequency, where I can put in a variable in the code that allows me to preset to an exact frequency (and still vary the duty cycle by potentiometer adjustment). I have read a lot of material but have found it baffling with quite a lot of tables and considerations - sometimes with example code that, when I try it, does not quite do the job. Any helpers on a solution to this?

I know I can build a dual ic555 timer circuit to do the same job (with fine tune variable resistors to set the frequency) but this feels like giving-in and would prefer to use Arduino with its coded control.

15Hz-25Hz depending on the board