HELP! Burning up boards. Software PWM driving 48 LEDs with Arduino MEGA

I’m a novice to electronics, but not to programming. I've been trying to build a lamp containing 16 segments of RGB led strip. That makes 48 separate led clusters (3 colors x 16), each ready to go at 12 volts with built-in resistors, and each drawing about 100mA. I twice failed to get things to work using 3 TLC5940s, and then ran across this article: http://www.picano.nl/microcontrollers/arduino/control-many-leds-with-pwm about software PWM. Instead of using shift registers, I decided to try using the Arduino Mega (with ATmega1280). I would use 48 of its 54 digital I/O pins, with interrupt-driven PWM using direct bitSet and bitClear instructions. Since I haven’t seen this “obvious” approach discussed elsewhere, I will provide some details here.
I first tested this with only one led connected, but with a program using a timed interrupt to control 48 pins. The board seemed to handle the load well enough, using 30 levels of brightness on a 60Hz basis (hence doing 1800 interrupts per second). That appeared to use about 1/3 of the board’s capacity, since it would saturate and begin to run very slowly if I went to 100 levels of brightness.
The interrupt routine is very simple:
void iserve(){
static byte counter;
for (int i = 0; i <48 ; i++) {
if (ledvalue > counter) { bitSet(ports_,portnum); } //see explanation below*
else bitClear(*ports,portnum*);
}
counter++;_

if(counter>__maxBrightness) counter=0;
_}
Here is the rest of the minimum code necessary to the approach I’ve taken:
#include "TimerOne.h"
// A pin on the Arduino board is directly addressed by a command like “bitSet(PORTE,3)”—for pin 5.
//I’ll include a complete table of pin and port address associations near the end of this forum message.