wake up arduino pro mini using time

Hello

I am doing a project to send sensor data from one arduino mini pro to another using NRF24L01.

Sensor will activate maximum three times a week. so i don't want to waster power so i will but transmitter in to deep sleep mode and wakeup when sensor is activated and sends data, i have done till here.

Now i want to make another interrupt using timer that arduino should wakeup every 5 hours and sends the transmitter battery status and goes to sleep after sending data. because i am new to this timer concept can some please help me with any example code or some reference links.

Thank you

What "timer" are you talking about? One of the three (or 5) built into the Arduino?

What sleep mode are you using? Some sleep modes disable the timers, so you can't make a timer wake the Arduino, because the timer isn't running.

Hello Paul

Thank you. I am giving battery voltage to analog pin. i want transmitter to send this data every 2 hours once.

What are the options? how can i do this? i am not getting any idea. please help me

What are the options?

Options for what? By far, the simplest solution is to acquire an RTC, with an alarm capability, and set the alarm to fire whenever you want to wake the Arduino up.

If "deep sleep" means power down sleep, the only built-in timer available is the watchdog timer. The longest time frame available is 8 seconds but you can wake up, update a counter and immediately go to sleep again if you want to wait a multiple of these 8 secs.

PaulS:
Options for what? By far, the simplest solution is to acquire an RTC, with an alarm capability, and set the alarm to fire whenever you want to wake the Arduino up.

I don't think RTC is good choice it consumes more power. I need to find some solution. is there any option to make time of delay 1 hour to send analog data message from transmitter to receiver.

I don't think RTC is good choice it consumes more power.