Robotic Car using Potentiometer PROGRAM?

Hey Arduino users! I am new to this forum so please be easy on me as I am also an amateur.

I have been working on this car robot for a while and Its almost complete except for my program. Basically its just suppose to control it self. When it hits a wall, it will back up and move a different direction.

So basically my robot car is basically 2 motors at the back with wheels attached to it. I got my breadboard and Aduino hooked up. I have a potentiometer up at the front. Basically what I am trying to do is

When the knob is set at the middle, both motors are moving forward. But once

i turn the knob left > Both motors go off except The right motor goes backward for 2 seconds and then both motors go on Forward.
i turn the knob right > Both motors go off except The left motor goes backward for 2 seconds and then both motors go on Forward.

How would I do this.

Much appreciated.

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this also but I'll do my best to help.

You don't say how the motors are connected but I'll assume you have some kind of motor shield.

Potentiometer - I'd imagine this can be read on an analog pin giving 0-255, this will help you determine left and right
Motors - Using the shield these will have a direction which can be set by HIGH, LOW when setting the pins up and a speed set by PWM 0-255, so by manipulating the two you will have full forward, reverse and speed on them
Bump detection - Might be easiest to use an IR sensor for this as you've not mentioned how you will do this, this can be read similar to the potentiometer, once you hit the desired distance to an object you kick in your reversing code.