Why does adding a servo motor to pin 10 affect PWM on pin 45?

This is a perplexing problem to me. I am new to Arduinos.

I have an Arduino Mega with an Adafruit motor shield (Adafruit Motor/Stepper/Servo Shield for Arduino v2 Kit [v2.3] : ID 1438 : $19.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits) on it.

For now, I want two devices connected to it -

1. A servo motor that I want to position in the usual fashion, to some point between 0 and 180 degrees. It has its own power supply.

2. A vibratory motor (in a dispensing device) that functions at different speeds, based on the voltage (0 - 3 V) applied to it. It has its own 5 V power supply, separate from the one for the servo, but 5V will (eventually) cook it, so I'm using PWM via analogWrite() to reduce that to a safe level and to exert fine control how much voltage in the 0-3V range is applied to it.

Both devices are both controlled by serial commands received from the computer. It's a simple one-way communication protocol:

If I send ">S123<" to the Arduino, it puts the servo at 123 deg.

If I send ">V255<" to the Arduino, it calls analogWrite to put up 5V to the drain pin, and the vibratory motor sees a 0V potential and is off.

If I send ">V102<" to the Arduino, it calls analogWrite to put up 2V to the drain pin (102 / 255 * 5), and the vibratory motor sees a 3V potential and runs at full speed. ">V153"< gets it to 2V and a slower speed, etc.

Both features work separately. The servo moves as expected. The potential measured between the vibratory motor power supply (+5V) and the drain pin (#45) is also exactly as expected.

The problem is when I have both features in the same program. In this case, the servo still works just fine, but no matter what value analogWrite( 45, [0-254] ) calls, the measured potential is always 5 V, and analogWrite( 45, 255 ) cuts the potential to 0 V.

It appears to me that something about setting up and using the servo breaks the PWM on pin 45.