Noob here: Mosfet question and feasibilty

I want to try and do my first build.

I am trying to accomplish a water sensor for (3) areas with a single approach. The area where I want the arduino has 2 close spots. One will be approx 5 feet away and the other approx 10 feet away. The third spot will be approx 70ft (max) away.

I have come across many setups for this to be accomplished. I also came across how to modify a cheap door sensor to do the same thing. I was trying to combine the options I have seen.

I wanted to use a BS170-N as a switch similar to this drawing:

The reason is I could then run (1) pair of wires to all 3 locations instead of needing multiple sensors. I don't need to know which one is wet, just that one is. I would like to put an Arduino with ethernet or wifi in place of the circuit board/battery in the diagram to send info to a pc.

The other setups I have seen call for multiple sensors and arduinos because of distance which ads cost.

Will this work like I want or am I incorrect? How would I connect to the Arduino?

Is this way inferior to the float switch or water sensors?

Thanks for any input.

Not enough information... We don't know anything about your "sensors".

You shouldn't need a MOSFET on the input. You didn't say the "circuit board" is an Arduino... Is it? You didn't say if you're connected to a pin programmed as an input (analog or digital) or programmed as an output.

Sorry, for the lack of specifics. Trying to explain better.

There are no sensors. There are 2 leads (very bottom of drawing) that when wet make a connection. The two wires would lay on the ground next to each other without touching and when wet will create a connection.

I mentioned that I want to put an arduino (ethernet or wifi capable) in place of the circuit board in the drawing. The drawing is of a standard window or door switch that is powered by batteries and has a alarm on it which is shown above the circuit board.