Audio Input

Hey guys,

searching for hours to find out how send an audio signal to my arduino. the results I've found sound too complex for me. (in between I'm a newbie)
I need only an idiotproof and easy way (or a cheap module) to send an audio signal from a PC phones-output(or CD/mp3-player) to the "analog in" pin of the arduino uno. At the end a servo should get it's rotation depending on the mVs of the analog in pin.

Any ideas?
thanks in advance

The Arduino analog input pins can only safely read voltages between 0 and +5vdc, nothing negative or over +5vdc allowed, without damage to chip. Audio is AC voltage that has a negative and positive value changing with the signal. Therefore an Arduino can NOT read a audio signal directly. Even if you can offset the audio AC signal to fit in a 0-+5vdc voltage range, it still not clear that an Arduino can do anything useful with an audio signal, it lacks memory and A/D speed capabilities for most usefull audio applications.

What did you have in mind for the Arduino to do with the audio signal?

Lefty

I think you're going to want something like this.
An op amp circuit to boost your mp3 levels to 0-5V range, and an envelope follower circuit to smooth out the level and not drive your servo totally batty.
I recommend you get some oscilloscope capability so you can capture the output be able to tweak the values.
www.dpscope.com has a very nice little USB scope for not very much money that will work great.

it should act like a vu-meter.
i have in mind to make a guitar playing card-board puppet. the picking arm should rotate. actually thats a all.
just need a simple solution to send my audio to the arduino.
i will take a closer look to the scope. maybe that's ist...or maybe not :wink:

Back and forth, or just faster/slower?

back and forward would be great. acceleration in addition would be greater.