Query about Mega 2560

Hello. I'm new here, so apologies if my query is inappropriate to this forum, or if my query should have been entered elsewhere in the forum.

Not only am I new to this forum, but I'm also new to Arduino. I bought a Uno R starter kit on eBay and have enjoyed working my way through various exercises.

More recently, I bought a Mega 2560 board which seems to work fine. However, I now realise that my board doesn't exactly resemble some of the other Mega 2560 boards advertised on eBay.

There appear to be two variants. One that resembles photos on a number of websites and in books I've seen. That one has a small group of header pins behind the USB connector. Then there's another, like mine, which does not have the header pins, but instead has what appears to be a surface mounted component in a metal 'can'.

Could someone please help me here, by clarifying whether or not there are more than one variants of the Mega 2560?

Thanks in advance for any help that you can provide.

Hi boxcorner

Can you post photos of your board? One of the whole board, and a close up of the metal can.

Regards

Ray

Many thanks for your reply. I tried to attach a photo with my original post, but it was rejected. So I reduced the size, but it was rejected again, so I posted my message intending to try again later. You beat me to it! I've been out, but will now try again and also a close-up photo of the can as you requested.

Addendum
I keep getting "Your attachment has failed security checks and cannot be uploaded. Please consult the forum administrator."

Addendum
I have sent a DM to robtillaart asking how I should contact the forum administrator.

Addendum
The top of the can appears to be etched with the following ID :
12.QOOM 16
KQT 1337 3F

boxcorner:
I now realise that my board doesn't exactly resemble some of the other Mega 2560 boards advertised on eBay.

No official Arduino boards are sold on eBay.

boxcorner: