Electromagnet with Arduino

I'm a newbie in electronics with a background in programming.

So, I want to create a transformer, to do it, first of all, I want to try to do a electromagnet. I know how to do one, and I have done one. The problem is that to do it I have to connect the 5v pin to the ground through a coil, that surrounds a metal. When I do that, after a while, the arduino stops working. I have seen forums that says that you should not connect the 5v to ground. Then I tryied putting a resistor, it didn't stop, but the metal didn't heat up neither act like a electromagnet.

Why does that happen? I don't know that much of electricity, if you could help in the fact of how electricity works in the explanation it would be grateful.

After the electromagnet I want to put another coil in the metal to receive the magnetic induction (I believe is called like that). And I'll use a program that I've done to create like an Alternative Current with two pins of the Arduino. It's this one:

const byte OUT1 = 9;
const byte OUT2 = 10;

const float FREQUENCY = 0.1;
const float CLAMP = 2 * PI / FREQUENCY;

double deltatime = 0;
unsigned int actualmicros = 0;
unsigned int lastmicros = 0;

void setup(){
  pinMode(OUT1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(OUT2, OUTPUT);
}

float f = 0;
int output = 0;
void loop(){
  // deltatime
  actualmicros = micros();
  deltatime = (double)(actualmicros - lastmicros) / 1000000;
  lastmicros = actualmicros;

f += deltatime; // forward in time

if ((output = sin(f * FREQUENCY) * 255) > 0){ // get output and calculate with it
    digitalWrite(OUT1, LOW);
    analogWrite(OUT2, output);
  } else if (output < 0){
    digitalWrite(OUT2, LOW);
    analogWrite(OUT1, -output);
  } else {
    digitalWrite(OUT1, LOW);
    digitalWrite(OUT2, LOW);
  }

// for not having a giantenourmous number
  if (f > CLAMP){
    double d = f / CLAMP;
    int i = (int)d;
    f = CLAMP * (d - i);
  }
}