Code 43 Impossible to connect Uno or update drivers for it.

Hi,
I am new to Arduino and from the introductions and guidance I read things should be easy to get started.
Well, for me it is not. After 5 hours still no luck.

When I plug in the device, the laptop (Win7) says:
"USB Device Not Recognized: One of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned, and Windows does not recognize it. For assistance in solving this problem, click thismessage"
I clicked on the message, and I see 1 Unknown device. At the bottom, it says "Recommendation: Try reconnecting the device. If Windows still does not recognize it, replace the device.

I did that a number of times, in different circumstances (e.g. with a power attached to the Arduino, also without it, etc...). No luck.

I went through different forums, tried all kinds of things but nothing helps.
In Device Manager under windows I see an Unknown device under ÜSB controllers: this is the unknown device in my USB connector.

• When I ask windows to find the best driver it says "Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date"
  • When I ask to select a driver from the "drivers" folder under "Arduino-1.8.5", including subfolders, windows replies again "Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date"
  • When I select a specific inf file (arduino.inf or arduino UNO Rev3) through "have disk", then Windows says "Windows found driver software for your device but encountered an error while attempting to install it"
  • Yet in another case I get "The folder you specified doesn't contain a compatible software driver for your device. If the folder contains a driver, make sure it is designed to work with windows for X64 based systems."
  • I also tried a totally different computer: same problem.