Need some help for a science project.

I decided to make a robotic hand out of simple materials (here is the project summary:I Like to Move It: Motorizing a Robot Hand | Science Project) and I need some help programming the fingers so I can get them to move. What I want it to do involves picking up a chess piece and placing it in its designated spot. I have very little programming experience, and I would greatly appreciate it if you could explain it in basic terms. :slight_smile:

Wow this is a biggy for a starting point..... but nothing quite like jumping in the deep end!

That site says:

Once you have your robot hand

which makes that part sound pretty simple. Have you got that far yet?- ie the mechanical part?

My advice is to grab your Arduino and work through the simple examples on this site, such as good old Blink. Then grab a servo and a potentiometer and work through the two servo examples, namely Sweep and Knob.

I really think that to start, you have to get your mind how an Arduino program hangs together and how a servo is controlled.

First Things First....

Edit... by the way, to get the hand to move to a point is more than just building and programming the hand. A hand, to be useful, needs to be on an arm, that's another 4-5 servos and some fairly major construction. Not to mention the logic and sensing involved in knowing where QB4 is on the board....

I almost have the fingers done. Thank you for the advice though. Also, how do you get the wires out of the servo motor? I'm using the Futaba S3003 servo motors if that helps.

how do you get the wires out of the servo motor

Not sure what you mean...