"No flicker" Multiplexing of LCDs...fun with the HT16K33

This post might take a while. I'm a newbie, figured this out for myself with some help here. Not sure if the way I've done this is right, and you can pretty sure it's not the best or most professional way to do it...but it might help a newbie is was struggling like I was.

The task;

Make a lightbox where you can control the RGB values of the light it emits, but also see those values on LCD displays.

I make nightlights that use filtered light to project images. It's important to get the RGB balance just right so that one filter "vanishes" completely and doesn't interfere with the image generated by the other. I wanted a quick and "touchy feely" way of changign the light values, whilst stil accurately recording the values from 0-255 so that I could include them in sketches later.

The challenges;

"Too many inputs!"

Three values of 0-255 = 3 x 3 digits = NINE digits total.

A single seven segment LCD has EIGHT terminals (seven segments plus one for the decimal point)...nine x eight = 72 terminals. I'm using a trinket with limited outputs. I'm grateful to Paul S on here for his suggestion of multiplexing and for, in his own way..."helping". Aristotle would be proud.

"No Flicker"

I was told that mutiplexing with the Trinket would lead to flicker. I'd tried a simple sketch and boy they were right. You have to mess with delay statmeents to minimise it and even then it's noticeable. I hate flicker, so it had to go, or I was jacking it all in.

"I am John Snow"

Seriously. I know nothing. I barely knew what a bit was prior to this, let alone how to bang or shift some...thinking in binary is hard...but surprisingly effective when controlling thse things"

"HTK...no...HKT...HK16...sod it, Im calling you Hattie".