Powering 3200 LEDs controlled by Arduino, how do I / do I have common ground?

I'm by no means an expert at this which is why it's fun learning... but I need to do something outside my comfort zone which feels very likely to fry things and I don't want to do that!

I'm using the FastLEDs library to control a strip of 150 WS2812 IC Controlled LEDs. I experimented originally by cutting the strip and just controlling 5 which worked well off the board. Power from the 5v pin and back to ground, data from one of the digital pins.

When I went up to 150 my brain said I was going to need more power and I have a 5v 1amp supply on the desk so I wired that to the LED strip hot and neutral and just had the data pin on the Arduino connected up and sending the info.

This lit all 150 well but flickered. On more digging on Google I found that I needed to connect the GND from the LED strip (that goes back to my power supply) also to my Arduino. I did this and it works beautifully.

Now I've been asked if I can scale that up next week for a display to 450 LEDs (3 strips). I know that my 1 amp won't be enough here and I've been handed a 5v 20amp transformer for the task, I also have a 5v 30amp one of my own if it were to prove inadequate for the task.

So my general electronics knowledge is pretty (decades) rusty but if I set the LEDs and the Arduino up to draw from the same PSU then they only draw what they need and the fact that they share a ground won't melt my little buddy.... I think.... but I don't know.

I also don't know what to do if I end up needing half a dozen PSUs....

Any help appreciated, I get that it probably a very basic ask!

In theory, 450 leds could draw up to 27A, if all leds were set to max brightness white. Most patterns & animations use significantly less, depending on the pattern/animation, it could be 1/3rd of that, or more or less.