Clockmakers Clock timer - adivce and suggestions!

Hi,
Ive recently made my first clock, Dr Philip Woodwards Gearless clock. I say made, well it is now running but it isnt complete as far as case, hands etc. but as far as the running mechanism, it is working. There are some details about it here at my site: www.raynerd.co.uk

Im really interested in building a timer to check the errors in my clock. I have very limited skills in microcontollers but Im not a complete noob, you can see some of my PIC projects on my website as well ... just basic stuff like electronic dice, binary clock and my "best" device was a single axis stepper motor controller for my milling machine. I used an EasyPIC 6 from mikroelectronica in Mikro C for all my work but Ive recently been playing with the arduino boards which seem a little easier to use and ideally Id like to use this for my project.

The basic funtion of a clock timer is to keep accurate time itself and compare this to the time being measured by the clock. The way commercial timers work (which are too expensive for me to consider right now!) The PIC on commercial timers uses one of two main methods to input the clock time, either it uses a microphone to "listen" to the beat of the clock or watch escape wheel (tick tock!) or with clocks, you can use a physical sensor on the pendulum and measure the period of the pendulum.

I imagine using a physical sensor to measure the pendulum swing/period would be easiest in terms of an input for the arduino. My initial thoughts are to time the length of each period (mount a sensor of some sort on the pendulum and on the wall behind the pendulum bob and two passes of the sensor will equal one period). I know my clock should do 40 complete swings/periods each minute (easier to calculate if it was 60!!), so it should take 60/40 = 1.5seconds per period if it is keeping correct time. I`m guessing really it should take the readings of a number of periods and calculate an average.