Novice: Can suddenly not run ANY sketch.

Hi, First post, new to Arduino, new to programming, experienced electronics hobbyist.

I have a UNO R3 (Elegoo) using IDE 1.8.9 with COM3 on my Win 10 PC. I last used the board yesterday on my XP (SP3) PC, also under IDE 1.8.9 and now working on my Win 10 PC.

Whatever sketch I open or create, it fails to upload. A previously uploaded sketch (from my XP PC) just continues running. Now gives a whole raft of (to me) obscure errors. Here's an extract:

System wide configuration file is "C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\tools\avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

Using Port : COM3
Using Programmer : arduino
Overriding Baud Rate : 115200
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 1 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xc6
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 2 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xc6
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 3 of 10: not in sync: resp=0xc6
etc

I studied this link:

[this link](http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#upload for suggestions)
but found no solution. I read several posts about this but most replies were over my head.
I'm an Arduino novice and I'd appreciate any help please.

The most puzzling thing is that I HAVE successfully run this sketch before on my intended shed workshop XP PC. But that too started giving the same result, with messages like those above.

I'm at a loss as to how to recover normal operation.

Terry, East Grinstead, UK

Remove any connections to pins 0 and 1. These pins are used for communication with your computer, including uploads. Connecting anything to these pins can interfere with uploads.

Make sure you have the correct board selected from the Tools > Board menu.

Make sure you have selected the port of your Arduino board from the Tools > Port menu.

Sometimes the port will be labeled with the board name in the menu. Other times it will not. If you don’t know which port is your Arduino, you can find it like this: