transistor to switch on 12v solenoid

I am trying to switch on and off a solenoid using arduino I wired it up using a PN2222 transistor. When the arduino sends a high to the base of the transistor all that happens is the transistor gets very hot. attached is an image of how its set up.

I think everything is wired okay.
Does the solenoid require too much current for the 2N2222 ?
Can you give a link or the brand and type of that solenoid ?

its taken from a doorbell. no brand or anything. I think it might take too much current. the coil gets very hot pretty quick (15 sec)... I am new to this how can I test how much current it draws. I have a cheapo multimeter...
Thanks.

I wouldn't ask a 2222 to switch more than about 250mA without heatsinking.
You could reduce the base resistor to 150 ohms in case that helps, but the '2222
isn't a new design and has poor saturation performance compared to modern
bipolar switching transistors such as the ZTX851

A MOSFET would be much more capable if its a high current solenoid.

If the solenoid is low current then something else must be wrong.

Doorbells in our country are almost always AC, and about 8V, maybe 1A.
You could make a picture of your doorbell.

its not a doorbell anymore. its basically bell wire wound around a plastic tube. its taken out of a doorbell.

Well, that coil relies on having an iron core to increase the inductance, and the AC impedance to limit current, and expects a very low duty cycle. With DC, current is limited only by the wire resistance.

You will likely have to reduce the voltage drastically.

And a 2N2222, although rated at 600mA max, requires 1/10th the collector current be fed into the base to be in saturation. If it is not saturated (fully turned on), then the heat goes up drastically.