Power 8 Servos with BEC from 12V Adapter

Hello there,

I need to power 8x Analog-Servos R3630. I tried to power them with 4x AA 1.5V batteries to get a total voltage of 6V, but in the testrun with 3 servos attached one of them didn't work.

I figured that I have to supply a stable Voltage of 6V and up to 2000mA.

My plan is to connect a 12V Wattack switching adapter to a BEC to reduce the 12V to 6V. Now I plan to connect all 8 servos to the BEC.

Does that work?
Do I get the 2000mA for the best performance for the servos?

I hope you can help me out on this since I'm not very experienced in electronics and arduino.

You need to know the stall current for the servo, and that information is not listed on the page you linked.

However, the stall current is likely to be 1 Ampere or greater, and the power supply must be able to provide that for EACH servo that is moving at once.

If all eight servos will be moving, plan on a 5-6V power supply capable of 8 Amperes minimum.

AA batteries can supply only 1-2 A.

You need to know the stall current for the servo, and that information is not listed on the page you linked.

The stall current is 1300 mA at no load each. Does that mean, that I should use 4x AA Batteries to power 1 Servo? The BEC only get's 5 A.

We just found an old power adapter (or how they are called :smiley: ) this should do the job for all of the servos or am I missing something?

Stall current 1.3A per servo. 8 servos 1.3A x 8 =10.4A. That power supply can on supply 2.5A. Neither a 5A BEC fed from a 2A supply or a 2.5A power supply will provide 10.4A.

Something like a 6V SLA battery might be better.

Steve

The stall current is 1300 mA at no load each.

This doesn't make sense. The stall current is measured with the shaft locked, so the load is effectively infinite. Please post a link to where you obtained that figure.

Something like a 6V SLA battery might be better.