Controlling DC voltage to a linear actuator

Hello,
I'm new to Arduino and hardware in general and was hoping for some advice. I'm trying to control the DC voltage supplied to a Firgelli L12-S linear actuator based on the voltage output read from an electronic pressure sensor by using an Arduino Uno, but I'm not sure how to do this.

To adjust the voltage supplied to the actuator I assume I could use some sort of digital PWM, but I'm confused about the differences between analog and digital PWM. Is digital PWM just a matter of switching between 0 and 5V more quickly than you would if you wanted an analog signal? Also, given that the max DC voltage of the actuator is 12V, I was considering implanting a simple non-inverting amplifier between the Arduino and the actuator. I'm worried about overdrawing current from the Arduino as well, so I thought that implanting the non-inverting amplifier might help with that respect, drawing current from Vcc+ (please correct me if I am mistaken).

Anyways, those were my first thoughts on trying to provide variable dc voltage to the linear actuator, but obviously my technical understanding is highly lacking. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

solarplexus:
To adjust the voltage supplied to the actuator I assume I could use some sort of digital PWM, but I'm confused about the differences between analog and digital PWM. Is digital PWM just a matter of switching between 0 and 5V more quickly than you would if you wanted an analog signal? Also, given that the max DC voltage of the actuator is 12V, I was considering implanting a simple non-inverting amplifier between the Arduino and the actuator. I'm worried about overdrawing current from the Arduino as well, so I thought that implanting the non-inverting amplifier might help with that respect, drawing current from Vcc+ (please correct me if I am mistaken).