DFRobotshop Rover - GPS guided project spinning in circles

Good afternoon everyone,

I've got some experience in C++ coding and small arduino builds, but this is my first one that's a bit more practical. Unfortunately, it's a pretty big bear to tackle. Here's my issue:

I am building a gps guided rover. I want to give it my way points and reach the targets. For now, ignore object avoidance. I want to print data to the OLED screen on board but it keeps getting stuck at the "booting up..." line and will not clear. Furthermore, when power is applied to the motors, this baby just spins for days. It may be locked in the "turndirection == moveLeft" operation. The basis of this build is a DFRobotshop Rover V2 with an onboard arduino. Below are the parts currently attached, as well as the sketch file since the code is far too large to paste in the post.

Hopefully someone can help me sort this issue out! Cheers!

DFRobotshop Rover v2 w/ arduino
Adafruit Ultimate GPS Breakout
Adafruit HMC5883L Magnetometer
Adafruit OLED Breakout 128x64 I2C

RoverArduinoForums.ino (13.5 KB)

SoftwareSerial mySerial(3, 2); // digital pins 7 & 8

What is the point of having a brain-dead comment like that?

Can you post a picture of the mySerial that is connected to the Arduino?

Serial.begin(9600);
 Serial.begin(115200);        // we need this speed for the GPS

Then WTF is the attempt to set the speed to 9600 for?

What pins does the display object actually use?

Issues with the screen resolved. Yes the code is a bit sloppy, it's still a work in progress.

snmavridis:
Issues with the screen resolved. Yes the code is a bit sloppy, it's still a work in progress.

So, do you still have a problem? If so, what is it?

it keeps getting stuck...

You're very low on RAM. You will probably have to switch to the u8x8 library, which does not use RAM in the Arduino. It sends text drawing commands immediately to the display.