Little help getting started with my little project.

Hi guys,

I'm completely new to Arduino and having ordered my board can't wait to do some experimenting. My first project is to add LEDs to my son's toy kitchen. It would have up to 8 LEDs and 3 magnetic switches. The idea is to lit a led or two when oven / microwave / cupboard door opens. Once that mastered I want to add photo sensor so the whole thing lights up when it gets dark, the last bit would be adding remote control to control LEDs but let me ask you probably a silly question first. When connecting series of LEDs to breadboard each LED positive leg is connected to Arduino pin and negative to GND - of course there is resistor between. GND is connected to one of the lines on breadboard so every LED's negative leg is connected to that line. I won't be using breadboard - each LED would be soldered to a resistor and then connected to specific pin on Arduino. Am I understanding it right there will be one wire connected to GND and all the negative connections (from LEDs and magnetic switches) would be connected to that single wire ? Am I thinking right ? I don't want to fry my board by doing something fundamentally wrong. I know is must sound silly to you but I seriously am newbie here :slight_smile: Thanks for your help.

zebik:
Hi guys,