Serial Monitor - how to open automatically?

Hello:

I just got into Arduino programming - and am having a blast! I've got some experience with C programming, so this is really fun.

I've got a question on the Arduino IDE operation (I'm running version 0022):

Is there a way to make the "Serial Monitor" window open automatically without having to click on the Serial Monitor icon?

Every time I compile and upload the software to the Arduino, the Serial Window closes. Then I have to open it again.

Thanks,

Jim

I know how you feel about having to reopen the serial monitor. Over time I found that memorizing the "Upload" and "Serial Monitor" short cuts help. Habitually I just hit the Serial Monitor's hotkey after the LEDs stop flashing.

Late night troubleshooting is made interesting when I am waiting for serial output from a program that doesn't have any. :wink:

I rarely use the built in serial monitor, I use an external terminal emulator. That leads to additional complications though, as you have to remember to take the terminal offline before you upload the sketch. Just to further complicate matters I also tend to use Notepad++ as my editor, so I need to remember to save the edit, turn off the terminal then do the build/upload.

Bottom line is that having to re open the serial monitor if far easier if you don't need or use the advanced editing or serial macro functions :slight_smile:

One day I will script Notepad++ to do the Build process but as noted by James, the short cuts become habit before too long.

Cheers
Chris

Late night troubleshooting is made interesting when I am waiting for serial output from a program that doesn't have any.

Sounds a lot like falling asleep watching TV during a commercial, on a program you really were interested in seeing through to the end.
:wink:

KE7GKP: